Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday, and boy is it tasty! I made some amendments to it though, as my husband is really allergic to nuts and nut products, and I was going to enter them into a healthy cookie contest, so I wanted to cut back on the fat: 1. instead of walnuts, I used pumpkin seeds 2. instead of almond butter, I used sunflower seed butter 3. instead of canola oil, I used applesauce 4. Instead of blue agave nectar, I used honey 5. I doubled the entire recipe, but kept the sugar at 1/3 cup. In other words, I used half the amount of sugar. They're fabulous!! However, something really strange happened today. The outside is the normal brown colour, but the insides are green. Like, emerald green! They taste the same as they did yesterday, but the colour is throwing me off a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except for using coconut oil instead of canola and I used 1/3 cup agave by accident. Definite keeper!!! Does anyone know the nutrition/calorie count on these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Healthy and great tasting cookies! Used coconut oil instead of canola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Split, Split-Dalmatia, Croatia
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jilld12
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I made these cookies exactly as the recipe states. And I must warn you, I ate 5 cookies today... As my 8 year old picky boy says "Veryyyyyyy good. I love this. It was delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
What a great healthy alternative to chocolate chip cookies! Great taste, great crispy undertones, yet still really soft and chewy. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kate
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Yum! I substituted almond meal for the walnuts and flour (because I didn't have either!). Also used honey instead of agave, coconut sugar instead of brown sugar (because it is a 1-1 sub and lower glycemic index) and two eggs. Omitted any dried fruit since my kids don't like that, and reduced the chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. They were soft and chewy. Kids loved them, so did I but because of all the nuts and nut butter, they are very high in fat. Lotta protein though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Iyccbnnmmn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Thanks for the inspiration to bake a healthier cookie. I added a well ripened banana to replace some of the oil. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These are terrific! I omitted the cherries and cinnamon to make them more like a traditional chocolate chip cookie. I went to caloriecount.com and determined that they are approximately 227 calories each, 14.8 fat, 5.7 protein. My batch made 22 cookies. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amberlou
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My cookies came out a bit too moist... Once I refrigerated them, the texture was fine. The cookies taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States