Whole Grain Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Excellent. Didn't have milk but had almond milk. Tasted great. This week I cooked a peeled apple with steam and the substituted it for the banana and added some cinnamon. Ooooohhh yeah,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I did not have almond meal so I substituted ground flax seed, and I used ordinary corn oil instead of canola oil. These were tender and just really good. My husband enjoyed them too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
As suggested by others, I "soured" the milk with 2 T. of vinegar, and I let the mixture sit for 15 minutes. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I used nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt instead of milk, doubled the oats, and added 1/8 cup of honey. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Finally! A whole wheat pancake recipe I like!!! It has been a long search, but finally I found it. The only reason I gave it a 4 rather than a 5 is because my kids weren't 100% sold on this (they are a bit used to the good ol' Bisquick pancakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I subbed wheat germ, added cinnamon, and let the mixture sit 10 minutes or so (thanks Sara Jo!). I also used quick oats. The result was fluffy, moist but hearty pancakes with a mild banana flavor. Next time, I'll add more banana (not mashed up as much), more cinnamon, leave out the canola oil, and use sour milk. I topped with a fresh blackberry sauce which suited the pancakes great, but the possibilities are endless. Plain honey drizzled on top, chocolate chips mixed into the batter, blueberry sauce....they are also great plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My family really liked these pancakes. I took another reviewers suggestion and "soured" my milk by adding 2 Tbls of vinegar and let it sit for about 5 minutes before adding the other ingredients. This makes the pancakes fluffy. Next time I will also add a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
We live in Costa Rica, where the bananas are excellent and where we are always looking for ways to use the ones that are super ripe. We tried these for the first time this morning and LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These were wonderful. I used organic unbleached flour because it's what I had, but plan to use wheat germ next time to replace the almond meal.I doubled the oats, halved the salt, used milk soured with lemon juice. I let the batter rest 15 minutes as suggested. My husband and I both loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, but I think next time I would add a little more oatmeal and use buttermilk. These do have a great flavor, but they do need a little sweetness. I'm sure my granddaughters will inhale these. I did make mine a little smaller than called for, but that's just because of my "audience." Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States