Whole Grain Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
So, I made these this afternoon (Aug. 2, 2014), and my reaction is mixed. The first thing I'm sure of is there is too much baking powder in these. There is a metallic aftertaste that is unpleasant. The other issue I had was that the baking powder acted immediately in the batter when dry hit wet, but then they didn't rise in the oven. The top note of flavor is good, but that metallic aftertaste nullifies that. My advice, less baking powder and make sure it's double-acting! Aside from those criticisms, I like the versatility of the batter. I added whole oats instead of oat bran, trail mix (with sunflower seeds, raisins, nuts, etc.) instead of raisins and pecans, and used all Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. The texture is dense, but that's the way I like them. Overall, I'd try them again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kayazie
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Amazing recipe and use of whole wheat pastry flour! Very moist muffins. I sprinkled chocolate chips on just a few as an experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayazie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
These were not good at all. Even my son who loves all muffins would not eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Changed a few things, Oat bran to ground flax seed,and raisins to dried pineapple, next time I think I'll add coconut for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMcLellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This tasted pretty darn good and were very moist. I was looking for a pretty healthy muffin that I could make with the ingredients in my pantry. I didn't want to go to the store so I didn't follow the recipe exactly... *only used 1/8 cup maple syrup subbed brown sugar for the rest *I only had plain yogurt so no sour cream *Only had whole wheat flour so I subbed 1/2 cup of milled flax seed *Didn't have applesauce so I cut up an apple stuck it in the microwave then blended it. *also didn't have oatbran so I used oatmeal. Where there is a will there is a way :). I didn't realized I subbed so many ingredients until I listed them! Pretty forgiving recipe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was a great recipe! I made a few changes that were suggested and what I had on hand. I enjoyed not having to use oil and a lot of sugar. Loved the idea of using non fat yogurt too! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Tastes awesome! Don't cook in muffin liners, though - very hard to peel off paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These were good, but not the best banana muffins I've ever had, and I tend to cook whole-grain recipes rather than regular. These muffins were tasty, but they just weren't my favorite ever. I'm undecided as to whether I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made some modifications to suit my cooking style. I used 1/2 cup oat bran and 1/2 cup ground flax. I also used banana cream pie fat free yogurt in place of plain. I omitted the raisins and added an extra banana. These would also be good with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Yum yum.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Loved this recipe! Didn't have the pastry flour or oat bran so just used all whole wheat which sometimes can be dry. Not so -- really moist and yummy. Threw in chocolate chips with raisins (1/2 and 1/2). Added chopped pecans but next time would pan roast them first as I found them a little bitter. Otherwise really, really good. Had one ripe banana left over so sliced it and put it on top before baking. Looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States