Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was wonderful. I didn't know mayo could taste so good. I used it in the slaw dressing Easter and to make ham salad the next day with leftover ham. Both wonderful. Also good on plain ol' lunchmeat sandwiches. I went exactly by the recipe. I did use pasteurized eggs due to salmonella concerns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Homemade mayo is the best, and I have made it with several different modifications. I use half canola, half EVOO, and have added a Dijon or whole seed type mustard with good results. Chop some dill pickles in the mayo and add a lemon herb spice and you have a great tartar sauce. Also, I do not add oil drop by drop, I simply pour slowly out of the measuring cup which only takes a couple of minutes and have never had trouble with it emulsifying. I never purchase mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
PattyJoy, thank you so much for your tips on making this mayo! I ended up making two batches cause it tasted so good! I used Canola oil, less oily taste to it, and added 1 TBS sugar. I ended up only using 1 1/4 c oil and it was getting so thick I had to stop. The first time I was pouring the oil in by hand...very, VERY slowly, talk about a tired arm! The second time I got smart and poked a hole through a paper cup with a toothpick and let the oil slowly drizzel out of that (I took out the little thingy on top of the blender lid and set the cup up there :) Very good will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
No chemicals in this mayo. Delicious.. Made with canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
TWO SECRETS: To make mayonnaise come out with the right consistency, (and thus creamy taste), you MUST start with a very, very dry blender, and you must pour the oil in excruciatingly slowly. Do these two things, and you will never, ever buy store-bought mayonnaise again! "Miracle Whip", add 1 to 2 Tbsp. sugar. (I don't do this, as I make my own mayonnaise for health reasons, as follows...) HEART HEALTHY VERSION: use extra-virgin olive oil (organic if you can find it), and organic, free-range eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
830 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I always make my own mayonaise. I do use a tablespoon of French mustard and use lemon juice instead of vinegar. I use sunflower oil or canola oil. First I put in the eggs, the mustard, lemon juice, pepper and salt and 1 tablespoon of oil. Make sure to keep the kichen aid (how do you call the mixer with blade to be used in this recipe???)on the bottom of the tall (preferably) glass container. Keep on mixing, while you gradually pour the oil in. Never take the base of the mixer out of the mayo until the mayo is done. Keep pulling the mixer upwards while adding the oil. Home made is wonderful! Use if for your potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe is great! It tastes better than any store bought mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe! I had never made my own mayonnaise before and felt like I'd discovered America when we tasted it and how fantastic it was. Like Cheri, I poked a hole in a plastic cup and let the oil drip in slowly as I blended it. Whipped right up with no problems. I also use Canola oil. Haven't bought a jar of mayonnaise since. I want to try it with flavored vinegar for steak sandwiches, fish, etc. I also grow my own herbs so I'm looking forward to adding some fresh parsley, basil, dill ... thanks for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS_KITTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great recipe. I hate mayonnaise normally but i LOVE this one. Very quick and easy. I make it in half batches and just slowly poor the oil from the measuring jug and i have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
How neat! Ran out of mayo and I just knew I'd be able to find a recipe here. This would be a great "project" to involve the kids in - to watch how it comes together. Next time, I'll decrease the amount of mustard powder, but other than that, very easy recipe! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States