Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Wow, how easy! Used the immersion blender in a mason jar. This was simple, not messy, and very tasty. I can see how this recipe would lend itself to some great flavored mayonaise recipes. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow...why have I never made mayonnaise from scratch before? Great, easy recipe that you can adapt to your own taste. I even used eggbeaters egg whites and it still was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a great, simple recipe. I use extra virgin olive oil, and double the salt and mustard. (My family's tastes are on the spicy side.) My kids eat tons of this plain on our home made whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I tried it and it was LOVELY but I used white wine vinegar and Dijon mustard instead Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen Corera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Wow making mayonnaise so simple! Thank you,I made it as I needed some for a chicken salad and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made this with my Cuisinart Stick Blender in 30 seconds. I put all of the ingredients in the cup that came with the blender and turned it on. Using a slight up and down motion, it was done in under a minute. I even showed a friend and now she is buying a stick blender - LOL! Since the mayo will not last as long as commercially processed mayo, I cut the recipe in half. You can add any seasoning you would like and this recipe is flexible as far as the type of oil that you would prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you....... I was out of mayo for egg salad. Followed the recipe as is with great results the first time. I did not have to use the full 2 cups of veg oil. And had to sub Dijon mustard for mustard powder. I am amazed at the big difference between this recipe and store bought I will NEVER use store bought. And thank you to all the reviews. Very helpfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This turns out pretty good, I use the stick blender. the only problem I have is it is not very thick. How do you get it thicker? I have tried using less oil, 1 1/2 cups insteaad of 2 and I have also tried using 3 eggs instead of 2 but still it is on the thin side. Even so it is very good and I now do not buy mayonaise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have always wanted to try making mayonnaise, so when I saw this recipe, I decided to give it a whirl (no pun intended). I cut the recipe in half and used white wine vinegar, because I am out of distilled white vinegar. Based on several reviews, I used a dollop of dijon mustard in place of the dry mustard powder. I put all the ingredients in the clear plastic mixing/measuring cup that came with my immersion blender, immersed the blade all the way to the bottom, and let 'er rip. Emulsification started almost immediately and the entire amount was emulsified and thickened in less than a minute. My daughter kept trying to get me to tell her what I was making, but I made her wait until she tasted it. She got a big grin on her face and said "YOU MADE MAYONNAISE!!" The flavor was really good, but I think I put too much mustard in, so next time I'll use less. I love the idea of being able to whip up fresh mayonnaise as I need it and not have all the chemicals and preservatives the store-bought stuff has, plus save money! I don't think I'll ever buy store-bought mayonnaise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
For those of you that had runny mayonnaise - DO NOT STOP ONCE YOU HAVE STARTED. If you do, the emulsion will separate. For those that thought it was bland - add different seasonings. We have been making mayo in our family for over 100 years. We use lemon juice which we think adds more flavor, the salt will balance out the sourness of the lemon juice. We also add some tobasco - what ever amount suits your taste. If it gets too thick before you have incorporated all the oil simply add a bit of water. I notice that if I add the oil too quickly (when using my hand mixer) it gets thicker than when I am patient. Expect it to take some time, 10 - 15 minutes - unless you use the immersion blender. Don't be in a hurry especially at the beginning when you are getting the emulsion started. And you shouldn't stir this once it is made (except for adding to your potato salad or whatever) or it will separate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States