Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe! As other posters advised, I used olive oil and added it very slowly, and added 1 tsp lemon juice. Excellent basic mayo recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Wow, how easy! Used the immersion blender in a mason jar. This was simple, not messy, and very tasty. I can see how this recipe would lend itself to some great flavored mayonaise recipes. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow...why have I never made mayonnaise from scratch before? Great, easy recipe that you can adapt to your own taste. I even used eggbeaters egg whites and it still was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a great, simple recipe. I use extra virgin olive oil, and double the salt and mustard. (My family's tastes are on the spicy side.) My kids eat tons of this plain on our home made whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I tried it and it was LOVELY but I used white wine vinegar and Dijon mustard instead Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Wow making mayonnaise so simple! Thank you,I made it as I needed some for a chicken salad and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made this with my Cuisinart Stick Blender in 30 seconds. I put all of the ingredients in the cup that came with the blender and turned it on. Using a slight up and down motion, it was done in under a minute. I even showed a friend and now she is buying a stick blender - LOL! Since the mayo will not last as long as commercially processed mayo, I cut the recipe in half. You can add any seasoning you would like and this recipe is flexible as far as the type of oil that you would prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you....... I was out of mayo for egg salad. Followed the recipe as is with great results the first time. I did not have to use the full 2 cups of veg oil. And had to sub Dijon mustard for mustard powder. I am amazed at the big difference between this recipe and store bought I will NEVER use store bought. And thank you to all the reviews. Very helpfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This turns out pretty good, I use the stick blender. the only problem I have is it is not very thick. How do you get it thicker? I have tried using less oil, 1 1/2 cups insteaad of 2 and I have also tried using 3 eggs instead of 2 but still it is on the thin side. Even so it is very good and I now do not buy mayonaise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have always wanted to try making mayonnaise, so when I saw this recipe, I decided to give it a whirl (no pun intended). I cut the recipe in half and used white wine vinegar, because I am out of distilled white vinegar. Based on several reviews, I used a dollop of dijon mustard in place of the dry mustard powder. I put all the ingredients in the clear plastic mixing/measuring cup that came with my immersion blender, immersed the blade all the way to the bottom, and let 'er rip. Emulsification started almost immediately and the entire amount was emulsified and thickened in less than a minute. My daughter kept trying to get me to tell her what I was making, but I made her wait until she tasted it. She got a big grin on her face and said "YOU MADE MAYONNAISE!!" The flavor was really good, but I think I put too much mustard in, so next time I'll use less. I love the idea of being able to whip up fresh mayonnaise as I need it and not have all the chemicals and preservatives the store-bought stuff has, plus save money! I don't think I'll ever buy store-bought mayonnaise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States