Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tried it slow with the oil and after 10 min in the blender of still runny I got out the food processor and tried that. I am still blending and adding oil real slow. Runny as heck. what am i doing wrong I know I love to eat now if I could just make my own mayo i'd be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Love this recipe. Love that I'm not wasting half the eggs and the consistency is perfect. If it's coming out to thin try to blend the other ingredients till the egg color is pale yellow then SlOOOWLY add the oil. And if you have a food processor (mine's a cuisinart) Check to see if there's a small hole in the bottom of the hollow, cup like, food pusher, sometimes you can put the oil in there and it will drip in slowly on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used olive oil in-place of vegetable oil as suggested by one of the other reviewers on here. DO NOT DO IT! If you love yourself/your family do not do it. It was beyond horrible. I have no doubt this recipe would have been great had I not used olive oil. I gave it 4 stars because I feel it does need lemon juice which isn't included in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
flawless! I made as written with the addition of one tbsp of fresh lemon juice because I like mine extra tangy. Used to recommendation of another reviewer by using an immersion blender in a wide mouth jar and I was amazed at how easy it was, great it came together, and there was NO CLEANUP :) The first time I made this I used olive oil and it tasted very... olive-y. I would only do this if you love the taste of olive oil because it continues to be the dominate taste in the mayo. Will use something light next time. I have also thought about using rice wine vinegar next time with a light oil to make an asian inspired mayo for sushi and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe! As other posters advised, I used olive oil and added it very slowly, and added 1 tsp lemon juice. Excellent basic mayo recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Wow, how easy! Used the immersion blender in a mason jar. This was simple, not messy, and very tasty. I can see how this recipe would lend itself to some great flavored mayonaise recipes. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow...why have I never made mayonnaise from scratch before? Great, easy recipe that you can adapt to your own taste. I even used eggbeaters egg whites and it still was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a great, simple recipe. I use extra virgin olive oil, and double the salt and mustard. (My family's tastes are on the spicy side.) My kids eat tons of this plain on our home made whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I tried it and it was LOVELY but I used white wine vinegar and Dijon mustard instead Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Wow making mayonnaise so simple! Thank you,I made it as I needed some for a chicken salad and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States