Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T. It was a decent recipe and I would make it again but maybe with a few mods. I have made other mayos that had a little bit better flavor...maybe due to the fresh lemon/lime juice in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Make sure the egg is at ROOM TEMP! I just put everything in a glass jar and stick my hand blender in and it whips it right up.....no need to drizzle oil drop by drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Here's a helpful tip to assist with the slow pouring. I take a funnel and wrap a piece of saran wrap over the bottom end, securing the wrap with a rubber bad. Then poke between 1 and 3 holes in it with a tack, rest it on the pour spout of my food processor and then just pour the oil in (I use olive oil) and it does the slow pour for you. I can usually only fit a cup in at a time and when it's finished I add the second cup. I also add a little extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I never in a million years would have thought the comments re: using an immulsion blender would have worked. From start to finish, this took all of - what - 10 seconds? maybe 15? Halved recipe, dumped everything (oil last) in mason jar, placed blender on bottom as others recommended and TADAH! Totally incredibly fantastic! Thanks so much all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This mayonnaise is great. I usually half the recipe so I can use it up quicker. I put everything in a jar that it will be stored in. Using an emmersion (stick) blender. Place the blender in the bottom of the jar and turn it on. By the time I raise the blender it's done. I get creative and add garlic powder, chili powder or whatever suites the recipe I'm making and viola...yummy mayo without the soybean oil. I use peanut oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was great. I used prepared mustard and used double mustard and vinegar because it tasted like oil before. Easy to make, but took me 20mins in a blender. I will make this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The first time I made this the consistency was perfect as I streamed in the oil. Then I decided to kick my blender into high gear and that turned it watery. I went back to the reviews and discovered that that was a no-no. So, I tried again (while my family waited patiently for BLTs). This time I halved the recipe, used canola oil instead of vegetable oil (does that matter?) and turned the blender to medium and left it there while I streamed in the oil. This time the texture was perfect but I was honestly a nervous wreck that I would waste so many ingredients again! Upon taste, it was extremely bland. I would prefer a sauce with more tang. I'm going to use it still; maybe look around the world wide web and see how I can adjust this recipe to my liking! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is the best mayo recipe I've tried. I have an immersion blender and made this in less than a minute!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome and easy. Never buying mayo again! I was worried it wouldn't taste like normal mayo because it uses the whole egg; I am use to it being made with egg yolks. I didn't have mustard powder so I added 1/2 tsp of dijon and little less vinegar since dijon has a little vinegar in it already.... turned out great. Also added a couple chipolte peppers to a batch and made a smokey/spicey mayo=yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tried it slow with the oil and after 10 min in the blender of still runny I got out the food processor and tried that. I am still blending and adding oil real slow. Runny as heck. what am i doing wrong I know I love to eat now if I could just make my own mayo i'd be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States