Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great! Loved it! You can use some dijon mustard if you want,but I stick with the dry one.PattyJoy is SO helpful. Thanks!!! I'll never buy the store bought ones again. EVER! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It is exactly my recipe this is how I've been making mayo since I was 14.This is very cost effective as you see in my country buying a 200 gm of mayo costs over 190 bucks I find this recipe very comforting.And to be honest I never made mayo with olive or vegetable oil.As you see in our part of the world we use soy bean oil and I've been making mayo with it and to give more flavor and texture I process whole mustard seed with my mayo and trust me it rises more flavor in your pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Use the lightest EV olive oil you can find, and the best freshest eggs at room temp. If you forget to take your eggs out then put in cup of hot water for just a few minutes. I believe this is very necessary to have room temp. eggs. I have made this for 3 mos. now and have added a pinch more salt and a touch of lemon juice for a more mayo flavor. I used a food processor and mix everything but the oil for a good minute or two, then I place a plastic cup with a small hole in the bottom in the hopper and let the EVOO go very very very slow for at least 15 minutes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I just made this and it turned out great. I will never spend $4.00 to $ 5.00 on A jar of mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I'll never go back to store bought mayo. Not that this tastes all that different, but because 1) Since we raise chickens for eggs I can make this for almost nothing. 2) No chemicals. 3) I can add different things to make it even tastier for the meal at hand. What I do differently from the recipe - I put my eggs, salt, mustard, 1T vinegar, 1T lemon juice and whatever else I'm going to add (usually 1 clove of garlic and a dash of white pepper) into a wide mouth mason jar and blend with my immersion blender, then slowly add in the oil with the immersion blender running until I get to the consistency that I want (usually takes about 1-2 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I didn't have the vegetable oil, so I trid substituting canola oil instead. It worked great, I turned this into a honey mustard dipping sauce that was amazing. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really was excited to try this recipe. We are trying to cut out processed foods and I was anxious to ditch the store-bought stuff. I followed this recipe exactly and, while the texture was PERFECT, the taste was not - all I could taste was oil, and my oil was fresh. It definitely needed more salt and some more tang... the flavor, for me, was almost non-existent. I made the recipe again only added in some lemon juice, but it still wasn't right. This is my first attempt at homemade mayo and I have no idea how to achieve the store-bought flavor I'm used to. Maybe a good base recipe to play around with, but I haven't found what I'm looking for yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I just made this mayo,excellent!! I did use 1 tab lime juice and 1 tab vinegar instead of 2 tab vinegar.thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
The first time I attempted mayonnaise, I failed - miserably. I don't think I used room temp eggs and my emulsion broke, leaving me with a giant oily mess. (I used really expensive olive oil, to boot!) But this time, I followed suggestions and used an immersion blender and a squeeze bottle to slowly drip 1/2 cup of oil in (drop by drop, so... super slow) and used the slowest immersion speed at first. (Was thin and runny looking.) When I added the second half of the oil, I turned the blender up to the highest speed and steady streamed the other 1/2 cup of oil, while moving the blender up and down. It worked amazingly! The result was fluffy and wonderful! Some substitutions I made: 1T red wine vinegar and 1T fresh squeezed lemon juice. I also used safflower oil instead of vegetable. It has a very fresh flavor... and I like the fact I know exactly what's going into my condiment. ;) This recipe is a bit on the mustardy side for me, so next time I make it, I'll use less mustard. But, this is great base recipe you can totally tweak to make different many types of mayos! Thank you, rfmommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States