Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this dressing this morning and used 1/3 cup evoo and the rest of the 2 cup measure using canola oil. It tastes ok, but next time I will not use the olive oil as it is a little too heavy tasting. Perhaps I will use coconut oil as a replacement along with the canola. I will make this recipe again although I am not a big fan of mayo and prefer Miracle Whip, as it has more flavour and body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
It turned out well but is more like Hellman's whereas I prefer something sweeter like Miracle Whip. Good base recipe or for those who like Hellman's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is the only recipe I use for making mayo. Sometimes I add garlic powder, salt and pepper. Other times I add some chipotle seasoning. I use an immersion blender and always get a rich delicious creamy mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Thank you for this simple recipe for homemade mayo! Had I known it was this easy, I'd have made it instead of buying it all these years. I had about 2/3 cup leftover veg oil, so I used that and 1 bantam egg, 1 teaspoon white vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon white wine vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice, a little over an 1/8 teaspoon dry mustard and a little under 1/8 teaspoon salt. I used a hand blender. I have no patience, so the oil probably wasn't put in as slowly as it should have been (just a slow pour, not a drizzle), but it still came out perfect! Delicious flavor and excellent texture. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Love this recipe. When I make it I add closer to 3/4 tsp of salt. I found that making it in a food processor is much easier than in a blender. It gets too thick for a blender to mix well. I also use about 1 tsp of yellow mustard instead of dry mustrard powder (I just didn't have any powder). Everyone that tries my mustard loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I didn't add the oil slowly enough so it didn't thicken as well as I had hoped. Added a tad more salt to taste, a pinch of sugar and another of white pepper. I've always been a Hellman's girl. Now I can make my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So amazing. I used olive oil and added minced garlic, and used a hand blender. Huge hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Niss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great basic recipe. Easy to tweak to one's own taste or to suit whatever you might be using it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I took a user's advice & used the hand blender. UNBELIEVABLE! SO easy and good!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This recipe is very creamy but it is lacking in flavor. Add more seasoning and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States