Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
WOW!!! This was great!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. Will never buy mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great base recipe, flavor can be adapted whichever way you want. I used garlic powder in place of the dry mustard and used roasted garlic red wine vinegar in place of the white. used canola oil, didnt seem to matter how it was added...turned out great and is awesome in my potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Perfect, simple recipe. I will try some different vinegars and lemon juice in the future just to vary the flavor. Also interested in adding some herbs as has been suggested. I have made mayonnaise before in the blender and it was kind of a pain - took several minutes to get it uniform and then a big mess to clean up. Now I just use our stick blender (bamix) and a wide mouth jar. It really does take less than a minute to mix and no fuss. I took my eggs straight out of the fridge, and it doesn't seem to matter much ow the oil is added. Total time start to finish is less than 5 minutes. Rinse the stick, screw on the cap and you've got bottled mayo in the fridge. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Mmmmm! Just made this when I ran out of mayo for potato salad and it made my potato salad taste even better!!! I did make it with 1 Tbsp of white vinegar and 1 Tbsp of cider vinegar. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Definitely use the food processor and pour the oil in slowly. For the first cup or so, I used 1 TB at a time to add the oil in and that worked. So excited to not use store bought mayo ever again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
WOW! Halved this recipe so I could make it with my Cuisinart blender stick. Put all ingredients into the jar (no drizzling that way), as suggested by a previous reviewer. I had perfect mayo in 30 seconds! I think I may buy egg beaters next time since my 12-year-old is skeptical of eating something with raw eggs in it. Still, easy and fabulous--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This recipe works great, every time. I will just say it again, all ingredients MUST BE AT ROOM TEMP or it will not emulsify. I had that happen once. Great tip with the paper cup idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! Due to a friend's allergy, I needed mayo without soybean oil, and I'm thrilled to find this one. I used my stick blender and followed "Deedles" tips, using the 16 oz tall measuring cup (that came with the blender) and put everything in at once (eggs first, then ingredients, and oil last)... and I divided the recipe in half. By immersing the blender to the bottom, and slowly raising it as it thickened, I made mayo (for the first time) in less than a minute. I used spicy brown mustard, 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 white vinegar, and canola oil. It is delicious and I will never buy it at the store again. Thank you rfmommy for posting, and thanks everyone for so many great tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Mine is... OK. Looks perfect, but I think I goofed and used oil that I've had around for a bit - it just tastes funny, and not in a good way. I added more sea salt (about 1 t. Sel Gris Sea Salt) and will read more reviews, because I'm going to try again with FRESHER oil, and see what happens. Also going to get paper cups so I don't have to spend 10-15 minutes drizzling in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
mine did not come out thick at all, even after using the drip cup method and all the suggestions. the only difference was that I cut the recipe in half...does this matter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States