Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
TWO SECRETS: To make mayonnaise come out with the right consistency, (and thus creamy taste), you MUST start with a very, very dry blender, and you must pour the oil in excruciatingly slowly. Do these two things, and you will never, ever buy store-bought mayonnaise again! "Miracle Whip", add 1 to 2 Tbsp. sugar. (I don't do this, as I make my own mayonnaise for health reasons, as follows...) HEART HEALTHY VERSION: use extra-virgin olive oil (organic if you can find it), and organic, free-range eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
873 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
PattyJoy, thank you so much for your tips on making this mayo! I ended up making two batches cause it tasted so good! I used Canola oil, less oily taste to it, and added 1 TBS sugar. I ended up only using 1 1/4 c oil and it was getting so thick I had to stop. The first time I was pouring the oil in by hand...very, VERY slowly, talk about a tired arm! The second time I got smart and poked a hole through a paper cup with a toothpick and let the oil slowly drizzel out of that (I took out the little thingy on top of the blender lid and set the cup up there :) Very good will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
More Tips: 1. You *must* have all ingredients at room temperature; 2. Use an immersion (stick-type) blender, if you have one. I have used my trusty Bamix since 1986 with outstanding results on this and many other recipes; 3. Be sure that the egg is the first ingredient added, followed by the vinegar (I use 1/2 red cider vinegar & 1/2 lemon juice), seasoning (I use 1/4 tsp to 1 C canola oil and the same amount of dry mustard as my mustard of choice), into a tall, narrow plastic cup (Halve the recipe for this method). Hold the blade on the bottom of the cup, turn it on to the fast speed for 20 seconds then move up & down slowly until completely mixed. Takes less than a minute, start to finish for delicious, homemade mayo! Other tips: Add finely minced chives, basil, cilantro, etc., or paprika or other spices ~ be inventive and enjoy. * * * This recipe tastes even better than Best Foods/Hellmann's mayo. We never have to buy pricey mayo. Once you try it, you may feel the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Makes an excellent mayo. Couple tips: Lemon juice for part of the vinegar really brightens it up. Also, if you have a stick blender, put everything into a wide mouth jar, place your stick blender all the way to the bottom and turn it on. Wait for a second until it starts to emulsify at the bottom and then slowly pull the blender towards the top. By the time you get there, you'll have mayo right in the jar that you'll keep it in! No more cleaning out a blender or food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used a dollop of dijon mustard instead of the dry mustard and I used olive oil. If you use the olive oil, make sure it is the very light olive oil or it will be bitter. This worked perfectly in my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Homemade mayo is the best, and I have made it with several different modifications. I use half canola, half EVOO, and have added a Dijon or whole seed type mustard with good results. Chop some dill pickles in the mayo and add a lemon herb spice and you have a great tartar sauce. Also, I do not add oil drop by drop, I simply pour slowly out of the measuring cup which only takes a couple of minutes and have never had trouble with it emulsifying. I never purchase mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe was kind of a pain to make in my blender. Near the end, it got really thick and it was hard to add the oil. Taste-wise, I liked this recipe better than the Home Made Mayonnaise, which is also on this site. It's thicker and the taste is more clear. I'll make this again, only next time I'll use the food processor. My blender is kind of a puss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I always make my own mayonaise. I do use a tablespoon of French mustard and use lemon juice instead of vinegar. I use sunflower oil or canola oil. First I put in the eggs, the mustard, lemon juice, pepper and salt and 1 tablespoon of oil. Make sure to keep the kichen aid (how do you call the mixer with blade to be used in this recipe???)on the bottom of the tall (preferably) glass container. Keep on mixing, while you gradually pour the oil in. Never take the base of the mixer out of the mayo until the mayo is done. Keep pulling the mixer upwards while adding the oil. Home made is wonderful! Use if for your potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe! I had never made my own mayonnaise before and felt like I'd discovered America when we tasted it and how fantastic it was. Like Cheri, I poked a hole in a plastic cup and let the oil drip in slowly as I blended it. Whipped right up with no problems. I also use Canola oil. Haven't bought a jar of mayonnaise since. I want to try it with flavored vinegar for steak sandwiches, fish, etc. I also grow my own herbs so I'm looking forward to adding some fresh parsley, basil, dill ... thanks for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS_KITTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was wonderful. I didn't know mayo could taste so good. I used it in the slaw dressing Easter and to make ham salad the next day with leftover ham. Both wonderful. Also good on plain ol' lunchmeat sandwiches. I went exactly by the recipe. I did use pasteurized eggs due to salmonella concerns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States