Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you....... I was out of mayo for egg salad. Followed the recipe as is with great results the first time. I did not have to use the full 2 cups of veg oil. And had to sub Dijon mustard for mustard powder. I am amazed at the big difference between this recipe and store bought I will NEVER use store bought. And thank you to all the reviews. Very helpfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This turns out pretty good, I use the stick blender. the only problem I have is it is not very thick. How do you get it thicker? I have tried using less oil, 1 1/2 cups insteaad of 2 and I have also tried using 3 eggs instead of 2 but still it is on the thin side. Even so it is very good and I now do not buy mayonaise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have always wanted to try making mayonnaise, so when I saw this recipe, I decided to give it a whirl (no pun intended). I cut the recipe in half and used white wine vinegar, because I am out of distilled white vinegar. Based on several reviews, I used a dollop of dijon mustard in place of the dry mustard powder. I put all the ingredients in the clear plastic mixing/measuring cup that came with my immersion blender, immersed the blade all the way to the bottom, and let 'er rip. Emulsification started almost immediately and the entire amount was emulsified and thickened in less than a minute. My daughter kept trying to get me to tell her what I was making, but I made her wait until she tasted it. She got a big grin on her face and said "YOU MADE MAYONNAISE!!" The flavor was really good, but I think I put too much mustard in, so next time I'll use less. I love the idea of being able to whip up fresh mayonnaise as I need it and not have all the chemicals and preservatives the store-bought stuff has, plus save money! I don't think I'll ever buy store-bought mayonnaise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
For those of you that had runny mayonnaise - DO NOT STOP ONCE YOU HAVE STARTED. If you do, the emulsion will separate. For those that thought it was bland - add different seasonings. We have been making mayo in our family for over 100 years. We use lemon juice which we think adds more flavor, the salt will balance out the sourness of the lemon juice. We also add some tobasco - what ever amount suits your taste. If it gets too thick before you have incorporated all the oil simply add a bit of water. I notice that if I add the oil too quickly (when using my hand mixer) it gets thicker than when I am patient. Expect it to take some time, 10 - 15 minutes - unless you use the immersion blender. Don't be in a hurry especially at the beginning when you are getting the emulsion started. And you shouldn't stir this once it is made (except for adding to your potato salad or whatever) or it will separate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I use very little mayo in my diet as I try to eat low fat and simply don't really care for mayo. However, this recipe is outstanding when mayo (or salad dressing) is needed. Wonderful in tuna & egg salad, potato salad & creamy coleslaw. I use about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp freshly minced or pressed garlic, dijon mustard & minced fresh tarragon. I grow herbs in my kitchen window so will have fun experimenting with other herbs. Will also try my homemade raspberry vinegar. So many ideas & options! A big thanks to the inventor of stick blenders as nothing else emulsifies very well. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
The consistency came out perfect. But my boyfriend and I found it very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
So delicious! I've never made mayo in my whole life and it was so simple! I did add garlic, paprika, and 1 tablespoon of water (to assist with the emulsion) for additional punch. It was FANTASTIC! You have to add the oil super slow until it starts coming together then you can add it a bit faster. Added it to this potato salad recipe: Allrecipes' Red Skinned Potato Salad. So delicious, my husband loved it! :-) Thanks rfmommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I would have rated this higher, but no matter how slow I go or what type of mixer I use it ALWAYS WINDS UP THIN! I read all reviews and did lots of research and still just really thin, albeit, tasty mayo sauce. If there are any suggestions to help me out, I will gladly change my review but right now it stands at a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
WOW!!! This was great!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. Will never buy mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States