Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I just made this mayo,excellent!! I did use 1 tab lime juice and 1 tab vinegar instead of 2 tab vinegar.thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
The first time I attempted mayonnaise, I failed - miserably. I don't think I used room temp eggs and my emulsion broke, leaving me with a giant oily mess. (I used really expensive olive oil, to boot!) But this time, I followed suggestions and used an immersion blender and a squeeze bottle to slowly drip 1/2 cup of oil in (drop by drop, so... super slow) and used the slowest immersion speed at first. (Was thin and runny looking.) When I added the second half of the oil, I turned the blender up to the highest speed and steady streamed the other 1/2 cup of oil, while moving the blender up and down. It worked amazingly! The result was fluffy and wonderful! Some substitutions I made: 1T red wine vinegar and 1T fresh squeezed lemon juice. I also used safflower oil instead of vegetable. It has a very fresh flavor... and I like the fact I know exactly what's going into my condiment. ;) This recipe is a bit on the mustardy side for me, so next time I make it, I'll use less mustard. But, this is great base recipe you can totally tweak to make different many types of mayos! Thank you, rfmommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Will make this again and again as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great mayo!! Made with safflower oil and used a paper cup with a hole in it to drizzle the oil into the blender. I think a stick blender might work better as I had to stop the blender twice to remove air pockets that were preventing the steady blending process. I will definitely try adding garlic and different herbs/spices to this recipe -- this should be a great aioli base. Thanks! I don't think I'll ever buy mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Read a few of the reviews, so you get some tips. This mayo has a milder flavor, but it is very good. Go 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 lemon for that bolder mayo taste. Also, if you are used to the commercial stuff, this might taste bland, just add more salt to taste. For an Spanish Alioli, delicious on baguette toasts, add 2-3 cloves of garlic (cut the brown root part). Flavorwise might be 4 to 4-1/2 stars, but since there is no waste (egg separation) I gave 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I must of done something wrong it didn't look OR taste like mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a very bland recipe even after adding fresh garlic it was like eating bland mayo and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This turned out fantastic! I will never buy mayo again as all the ones in the stores have GMO ingredients. Easy recipe, tastes like normal mayo. I've made mayo in the past, but it always tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome. I was so excited when it turned out so good. Olive oil flavor comes out so clear. Will try it with different variations. I am sure I will never BUY a mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make this all the time. I only use 1 cup of oil and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States