Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a very bland recipe even after adding fresh garlic it was like eating bland mayo and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This turned out fantastic! I will never buy mayo again as all the ones in the stores have GMO ingredients. Easy recipe, tastes like normal mayo. I've made mayo in the past, but it always tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome. I was so excited when it turned out so good. Olive oil flavor comes out so clear. Will try it with different variations. I am sure I will never BUY a mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make this all the time. I only use 1 cup of oil and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sioux Hughes
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Good basic recipe. I tweaked it by adding Dijon mustard instead of dry, 1T. Cider vinegar and 1 T. white, 1whole large egg and1yolk (omitted 1 white), and extra salt to my liking. I blended all ingredients in my Cuisinart food processor except oil, which needs to be added at a slow drizzle. I used canola. You could use EVOO. I've used that to make aMediterranean version which has lemon juice and garlic (no mustard, no eggs). Try either, you'll like it as long as you add the oil properly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sioux Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T. It was a decent recipe and I would make it again but maybe with a few mods. I have made other mayos that had a little bit better flavor...maybe due to the fresh lemon/lime juice in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Make sure the egg is at ROOM TEMP! I just put everything in a glass jar and stick my hand blender in and it whips it right up.....no need to drizzle oil drop by drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Here's a helpful tip to assist with the slow pouring. I take a funnel and wrap a piece of saran wrap over the bottom end, securing the wrap with a rubber bad. Then poke between 1 and 3 holes in it with a tack, rest it on the pour spout of my food processor and then just pour the oil in (I use olive oil) and it does the slow pour for you. I can usually only fit a cup in at a time and when it's finished I add the second cup. I also add a little extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I never in a million years would have thought the comments re: using an immulsion blender would have worked. From start to finish, this took all of - what - 10 seconds? maybe 15? Halved recipe, dumped everything (oil last) in mason jar, placed blender on bottom as others recommended and TADAH! Totally incredibly fantastic! Thanks so much all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This mayonnaise is great. I usually half the recipe so I can use it up quicker. I put everything in a jar that it will be stored in. Using an emmersion (stick) blender. Place the blender in the bottom of the jar and turn it on. By the time I raise the blender it's done. I get creative and add garlic powder, chili powder or whatever suites the recipe I'm making and viola...yummy mayo without the soybean oil. I use peanut oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States