Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Read a few of the reviews, so you get some tips. This mayo has a milder flavor, but it is very good. Go 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 lemon for that bolder mayo taste. Also, if you are used to the commercial stuff, this might taste bland, just add more salt to taste. For an Spanish Alioli, delicious on baguette toasts, add 2-3 cloves of garlic (cut the brown root part). Flavorwise might be 4 to 4-1/2 stars, but since there is no waste (egg separation) I gave 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I must of done something wrong it didn't look OR taste like mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a very bland recipe even after adding fresh garlic it was like eating bland mayo and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This turned out fantastic! I will never buy mayo again as all the ones in the stores have GMO ingredients. Easy recipe, tastes like normal mayo. I've made mayo in the past, but it always tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome. I was so excited when it turned out so good. Olive oil flavor comes out so clear. Will try it with different variations. I am sure I will never BUY a mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make this all the time. I only use 1 cup of oil and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sioux R.
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Good basic recipe. I tweaked it by adding Dijon mustard instead of dry, 1T. Cider vinegar and 1 T. white, 1whole large egg and1yolk (omitted 1 white), and extra salt to my liking. I blended all ingredients in my Cuisinart food processor except oil, which needs to be added at a slow drizzle. I used canola. You could use EVOO. I've used that to make aMediterranean version which has lemon juice and garlic (no mustard, no eggs). Try either, you'll like it as long as you add the oil properly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T. It was a decent recipe and I would make it again but maybe with a few mods. I have made other mayos that had a little bit better flavor...maybe due to the fresh lemon/lime juice in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Make sure the egg is at ROOM TEMP! I just put everything in a glass jar and stick my hand blender in and it whips it right up.....no need to drizzle oil drop by drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Here's a helpful tip to assist with the slow pouring. I take a funnel and wrap a piece of saran wrap over the bottom end, securing the wrap with a rubber bad. Then poke between 1 and 3 holes in it with a tack, rest it on the pour spout of my food processor and then just pour the oil in (I use olive oil) and it does the slow pour for you. I can usually only fit a cup in at a time and when it's finished I add the second cup. I also add a little extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States