Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Too much discussion of "slowly adding oil" etc. I increase the recipe by 50% and use a 50/50 blend of canola and olive oil, add a tablespoon of sugar and a clove of garlic, use a stick blender in a quart jar to mix all the ingredients but the oil. after about 30 seconds I dump the 3 cups of oil on top and move the stick blender up and down for about 30 seconds. A perfect quart of fresh, homemade mayo every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Eckert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much for posting it. I am allergic to preservatives in food, so I have to make most everything I cook. I will use this recipe from now on. I only have a blender so I used that. It worked good, but I think a food processor would be easier. I plan to get one soon. Also, used the suggestion of the plastic cup with a tiny hole poked in the bottom to drizzle the oil. Worked like a charm. Was only able to use 1-1/2 cups of oil because may got so thick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! I have a cuisinart food processor that has a drizzle hole and it works perfectly every time. Nice and thick. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Can't believe this recipe has been rated anything less than a 5. It tastes just like Best Foods! No wait. It's better! I didn't even have the egg at room temperature. It' practically idiot proof. Dump all the ingredients but the oil in a cuisinart, pour the oil into the food pusher (which has a small pinhole in the bottom just for this purpose!) and go! Lemon juice or champagne vinegar are fantastic. Half olive + canola also great. A little french sea salt. Ooh lah lah. I'll never go back to Best Foods. NEVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this. Took about 10 mins. and was received with rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I did like this recipe for the most part. I added 1/4 teaspoon more salt and another tablespoon of vinegar. Then I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Really good at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This looks like mayonnaise, the consistency is perfect, but it has a slight bitter taste. I made another mayonnaise recipe on this site and it was bitter too. I followed these recipes to the letter, so I don't know where the bitterness is coming from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was my 2nd attempt at making mayo - I really appreciated PattyJoy's tip! Instead of a blender, I used my food processor. I also used Olive Oil including 1 T of White Truffle oil. WOW - I will never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is the basic recipe I use for mayo, and it works every single time. I've made it with all the ingredients at room temperature, and I've yanked a couple eggs out of the fridge and slopped it together, and it still works. I personally am not a fan of mayo with olive oil for things like sandwiches (my main mayo use), but it's good if you're going for more of a sauce than a condiment. Adding fresh herbs to this recipe is also good, and when the week's lunchmeat is roast beef I usually throw in some prepared horseradish and a clove of garlic. Lemon juice subbed for vinegar (and a little grated lemon rind if you're feeling fancy) really does improve the taste, but it's perfectly fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
AWESOME! Finally got my nerve up to make homemade mayo and this recipe was perfect since I have fresh eggs. So glad I read so many reviews first, used the wide mouth mason jar and immersion blender others suggested. Added all the ingredients with the egg being first but being a little leary I put my blender in before adding the oil. Worked PERFECTLY! I did 2 subs, used my homemade seasoned salt for the salt and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I still can't believe how easy this was! For those finding it bland, I wonder if it isn't the extra salt and sugar commercial mayo has that they were missing. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States