Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is a great recipe if you are concerned about wasting the egg white. I have made this recipe using all kinds of oil and my favorite is regular vegetable oil. I would not recommend using Extra Virgin Olive Oil, as it lends to much flavor to the end result and can give your mayonnaise an almost bitter note. Like others I have split the acid using 1 Tablespoon White Vinegar and 1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice for a nice addition to the flavor, I also added an extra 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Also, like many others suggest, I use my immersion blender and add all the ingredients to a quart mason jar and start at the bottom and blend up. It is amazingly effective and mess free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I used 1/2 lemon juice & 1/2 apple cider vinegar for the 2 tablespoons of white vinegar and mixed with an immersion blender but otherwise followed the recipe. It was so fun to see it change color and thicken! I like the simple fresh taste, next time I'll probably add a touch more salt & maybe some herbs. I can't believe how easy it was! I'm excited to try different oils and seasonings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great! Loved it! You can use some dijon mustard if you want,but I stick with the dry one.PattyJoy is SO helpful. Thanks!!! I'll never buy the store bought ones again. EVER! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It is exactly my recipe this is how I've been making mayo since I was 14.This is very cost effective as you see in my country buying a 200 gm of mayo costs over 190 bucks I find this recipe very comforting.And to be honest I never made mayo with olive or vegetable oil.As you see in our part of the world we use soy bean oil and I've been making mayo with it and to give more flavor and texture I process whole mustard seed with my mayo and trust me it rises more flavor in your pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Use the lightest EV olive oil you can find, and the best freshest eggs at room temp. If you forget to take your eggs out then put in cup of hot water for just a few minutes. I believe this is very necessary to have room temp. eggs. I have made this for 3 mos. now and have added a pinch more salt and a touch of lemon juice for a more mayo flavor. I used a food processor and mix everything but the oil for a good minute or two, then I place a plastic cup with a small hole in the bottom in the hopper and let the EVOO go very very very slow for at least 15 minutes. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I just made this and it turned out great. I will never spend $4.00 to $ 5.00 on A jar of mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I'll never go back to store bought mayo. Not that this tastes all that different, but because 1) Since we raise chickens for eggs I can make this for almost nothing. 2) No chemicals. 3) I can add different things to make it even tastier for the meal at hand. What I do differently from the recipe - I put my eggs, salt, mustard, 1T vinegar, 1T lemon juice and whatever else I'm going to add (usually 1 clove of garlic and a dash of white pepper) into a wide mouth mason jar and blend with my immersion blender, then slowly add in the oil with the immersion blender running until I get to the consistency that I want (usually takes about 1-2 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I didn't have the vegetable oil, so I trid substituting canola oil instead. It worked great, I turned this into a honey mustard dipping sauce that was amazing. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really was excited to try this recipe. We are trying to cut out processed foods and I was anxious to ditch the store-bought stuff. I followed this recipe exactly and, while the texture was PERFECT, the taste was not - all I could taste was oil, and my oil was fresh. It definitely needed more salt and some more tang... the flavor, for me, was almost non-existent. I made the recipe again only added in some lemon juice, but it still wasn't right. This is my first attempt at homemade mayo and I have no idea how to achieve the store-bought flavor I'm used to. Maybe a good base recipe to play around with, but I haven't found what I'm looking for yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States