Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is good recipe. Nice and simple. I did follow some of the tips in the comments, mainly about using lemon juice with the vinegar and I had to add some garlic and onion powder for flavoring since the mayo was too bland for my tastes. Other than that it was great! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
totally easy!! love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I have now made this twice, with canola oil. The first time, I went directly by the recipe, except I substituted 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice for 1 Tablespoon of vinegar. I made it in my food processor. I incorporated the oil using the suggestion to jam a cup with a toothpick hole in the bottom into the lid, and pouring the oil in that way. The resulting mayonnaise had good flavor, but it was not very thick and it was greasy. The second time, I used several suggestions I had read for thickening mayonnaise. I added more salt (1 1/2 - 2 teaspoons) and more mustard powder (about 1 1/2 teaspoons), and I brought all ingredients to room temperature first. I was impatient, so I put the eggs into a bowl of hot water. They were ready in about 10 minutes. One other change I made, for flavor only, was going to all lemon juice instead of vinegar. We had been using Hellmann's Canola Mayo for a long time, and were accustomed to the higher amount of lemon. I also added some salt-free seasoning, which was completely unnecessary, but I wanted to play a little. This time, the mayo is nice and thick, with a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeopardMoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just tried to make this twice. Once in my Vitamix and once in my food processor. My containers were completely dry and I poured the oil in painfully slow... But both batches were a complete waste. I have been making vegan mayo with almonds and oil for years and that's supposed to be more complicated than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Too much discussion of "slowly adding oil" etc. I increase the recipe by 50% and use a 50/50 blend of canola and olive oil, add a tablespoon of sugar and a clove of garlic, use a stick blender in a quart jar to mix all the ingredients but the oil. after about 30 seconds I dump the 3 cups of oil on top and move the stick blender up and down for about 30 seconds. A perfect quart of fresh, homemade mayo every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much for posting it. I am allergic to preservatives in food, so I have to make most everything I cook. I will use this recipe from now on. I only have a blender so I used that. It worked good, but I think a food processor would be easier. I plan to get one soon. Also, used the suggestion of the plastic cup with a tiny hole poked in the bottom to drizzle the oil. Worked like a charm. Was only able to use 1-1/2 cups of oil because may got so thick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! I have a cuisinart food processor that has a drizzle hole and it works perfectly every time. Nice and thick. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Can't believe this recipe has been rated anything less than a 5. It tastes just like Best Foods! No wait. It's better! I didn't even have the egg at room temperature. It' practically idiot proof. Dump all the ingredients but the oil in a cuisinart, pour the oil into the food pusher (which has a small pinhole in the bottom just for this purpose!) and go! Lemon juice or champagne vinegar are fantastic. Half olive + canola also great. A little french sea salt. Ooh lah lah. I'll never go back to Best Foods. NEVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this. Took about 10 mins. and was received with rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I did like this recipe for the most part. I added 1/4 teaspoon more salt and another tablespoon of vinegar. Then I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Really good at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States