Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love the reviewer who said she felt like she'd discovered America when this recipe worked for her. If she's already discovered America, then I've found the Mississippi River! Yesterday I tried another recipe from an old cookbook & ended up with an oily liquidy mess. Also I used my food processor yesterday. Today, I followed this recipe exactly (except I added 1/4 t. paprika) and used my good trusty 30 year old Osterizer AND used the toothpick-hole-in-the-paper-cup tip and voila! Beautiful, glossy, creamy, thick, luscious mayonnaise! Thank you so much for this recipe and thanks to all who have offered their tips - especially the toothpick tip. Easy, easy! Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent! I used my blendtec blender and followed the suggestion of putting the oil in a paper cup with a small hole in the bottom and placing it in the top of the blender so it would drip slowly. I will never buy mayo again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdeloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I really don't know what happened, I tried this recipe and followed it exactly, and did not work, it never emulsified. Tried using a mason jar and started fresh, and that didn't work either, just ended up with a frothy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
WOW! Great tasting and just as easy as can be. I used the suggestion substituting 1T lemon juice and 1T apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Using a stick blender in a one quart canning jar is super efficient. I also proclaim: "I'll never buy mayonnaise again!" Look forward to trying other seasonings for special mayo-spreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this to use on a fried egg sandwich and it ruined the sandwich, it just tasted like pure oil, awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Thank you for submitting this recipe. I have made it several times and it turns out well. I found that using 1/2 teaspoon of sugar rounds out the flavor nicely but I don't always use it. It will not make it sweet at all nor does it make it taste like the popular miracle whip-just mayo. Update-I did not have the full 2 C of oil the last time I made this so used 1/2c of EVOO to make the full 2 C and it tasted fine. Some have said not to use all OO so I thought others would like to know it was fine. It does change the flavor but not enough to be bitter or otherwise off flavored. I thought it was pleasant and would not hessitate to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I just made this....after thinking that nothing could taste as good as BestFood Mayo, this recipe changed my mind. I did use meyer lemon juice instead of the white vinegar, though...used extra light olive oil and also added a bit more salt. I also used my stick blender and put the ingredients into a wide mouth quart jar. Was amazed at how quickly a great tasting mayo was made. I may not buy commercial mayo again. We are trying to stay away from soy, so thank heaven for homemade mayo recipes. I'll try different oils in the future, too. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONIQUILTS2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I use 1 1/2 c Smart Balance oil and twice the mustard powder. Also use Apple cider vinegar instead of white. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Quick. Creamy. Easy! Used fresh lemon juice instead of vinegar. Tasted very nice on my turkey sandwich. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and used a food processor. I poured the oil VERY slowly and used fresh ingredients. The oil wasn't rancid going in, but my final product tasted like rancid oil. Not sure what went wrong, but it was a total waste! Tried adding garlic powder and onion powder. It added some good flavor, but you this was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States