Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious! great flavor and fall-off-the-bone tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is the best chicken recipe I have made! No need to buy a rotisserie chicken at the store any more! It fell off the bone. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband is still raving about this recipe! He is normally the cook, but I attempted this recipe due to having all the ingredients on hand. I could not have turned out better! And it's so healthy! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I originally found this recipe on a site called thecrockpotblog.com, which is no longer around. I combined this rub with a recipe I found on another crockpot site (crockpot365.blogspot.com) which calls for a different rub (which I didn't use), and cornish game hens. That recipe calls for wrapping the game hens in bacon and putting them in the crockpot. I use a West-bend slow cooker that is oblong and has a rack that sits in the bottom, so the hens sit side-by-side and up off the bottom of the cooker. Seriously yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianedsk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherH
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Great rub! I put it on the chicken and put the chicken in a vacuum bag overnight. I couldn't even get the chicken out of the crock pot without it just falling off the bones. I definitely don't recommend going over the 8 hours of cooking, mine was in 10 hours andrive was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was one of the best crock pot chicken recipes I've ever tasted. My chicken weighed 5-lbs and I made the rub as directed except reduced the salt to 2 teaspoons since I have to watch my salt intake. I didn't notice the rub was to be put on overnight, mine was only on for about 3 hours, and I lifted the skin and put rub under the skin also, but the flavor was still awesome. I took the advice of another review and put some sweet onion along with celery chunks in the cavity. I made a two inch stand under the chicken with some potato chunks to keep the meat from laying on the bottom. That worked out great and husband ate the potatoes, too greasy for me but he loved them. I think this kept the chicken from falling apart since it wasn't laying in the greasy stock. I used a meat thermometer and cooked on low until the temp reached 170°, which took 8 hours exactly. My crock pot is old and cooks low when it says low, my newer larger one cooks much hotter, so I suggest checking the temperature to keep from over or under-cooking. This chicken was so tender, juicy and flavorful, it really did taste as good as the rotisserie chicken we buy from our favorite store...it was finger lickin' good. I'm making this one again...so dang easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We loved this recipe! I am not the cook in my house typically, but I put the spice rub on the chicken I got from the farmers market last night, and ran the slow cooker tonight. We have a 7 quart oval slow cooker and found about 5 hours on low was perfect (it ranges from 4-8 on the recipe, which I thought was a huge difference). Alternatively you can definitely smell when the chicken is ready to be checked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan Kiger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Way too hot so far as the amount of different pepper used. We like spicy food but this ones taste is off balanced with the amount of pepper. Won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Easy and delicious! I set the marinated bird on top of some whole potatoes, carrots, and onions. Thought it seemed like too much salt so I used one less tsp. The bird was perfectly seasoned but next time I'll sprinkle the remaining salt over the veggies. I added a bit of water but didn't need to. Lots of juice when it was done. I didn't want to add any heat to my non-air conditioned house so I set it on a table on my back porch and left for work. Came home to a great meal and I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe with one difference I used "smoked paprika" because it was on hand and was VERY pleased with the result. I used this dry rub the night before and the next morning I put it in the slow cooker with some veggies and went to work. SO NICE to come home to a hearty meal after a long day. the chicken was VERY tender I think the salt had something to do with that and I would not use any less personally. great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States