Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This was really good. Definitely lots of grease that drips off but I propped my bird on top of big chunks of onion and celery so it wasn't sitting in the grease. I cut the ingredients in half and still had lots to rub on. Cooked for 4 hours on high and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
The dark meat was decent, but the white meat had pretty much no flavor. Overall, it was an edible basic chicken recipe, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
i was really excited to make this one and idk what i did wrong, but i followed the recipe exactly, put the chicken up a bit in potatoes, carrots and onions, cooked for 5 and a half hours and it was....okay, not bad, but not didn't match up with the responses of other reviewers. i did however use the leftovers in Lloyd's healthy chicken zoopa (from this site) and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
The chicken came out so moist it fell off of the bone very good seasoning. I had a 7 lb chicken cooked it for 8 hours and added 1 cup of chicken broth and put carrots and onions on the bottom. I cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp just so it was not to hot for my kids and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Followed another poster's advice and placed potatoes on the bottom of crock. Chicken came out juicy, not falling apart. The potato, carrot and celery mix was indeed a big hit with the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane O'Rourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Amazing. This was one of the best recipes I have ever made. My entire family loved it and it was so easy. My daughter and husband LOVE pepper so they naturally loved the recipe. I don't love pepper like they do, but I love it as well. Make it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Made this last night. OMG good! I usually bake my chicken but too dry. I will never do it another way again. I also reduced the salt to 2 tsp, skipped the white pepper (didn't have any) in it's place I used Chile & Garlic seasoning and cut back on the dry cayenne pepper. Used a quarter onion in the cavity. Served with chicken stuffing and gravy. My most satisfying meal in a really long time. Over and beyond my expectations! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This definitely made my first time cooking a whole chicken a breeze. My family personally liked it sitting in the broth. I stuffed it with onions and garlic. The remaining chicken will be turned into pulled bbq chicken. I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is tasty. The seasonings really do have that rotisserie flavor. Based on the amount of salt in this recipe I see how the store bought cooked chickens may be so salty now. Whole organic chickens were pretty pricey, so I went with a cut up one. A lady on the buzz suggested an onion in the cavity. That is a great idea. I modified it by layering the chicken with 2" pieces of onions. I mixed the seasonings and shook the chicken pieces in a bag with it, after cleaning the chicken and rubbing on a little oil. I did change up the seasonings some. For the peppers, all 3, I did 1/4 tsp. I did 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 tsp. of paprika and the rest of the seasonings the same. I took mine out of the crock-pot about 1-1 1/2 hours early, due to it being cut up. The meat is in a lot of liquid, at least with using the onion anyway. Next time I will elevate it on some balls of foil or other method. The cooked onions were tasty too. I may try a gravy, as suggested, from the strained liquid. The fall off the bone meat and onions will be good with a rice pilaf. Don't be expecting crispy chicken or skin at least following the method above. If that is not an issue, this works fine. Note: I also used a crock-pot liner for ease and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Some parts were too spicy from soaking in the oil in the bottom of the cooker while other parts were a bit bland. Using the small potatoes to prop up the chicken is likely a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neal Spears

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States