Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
By far the best enchiladas of my life.. I know it sounds crazy but I'm dreaming of when I get to make them again. We changed it up a little using drum sticks instead of breast (it's all we had on hand). We also used both corn and flour tortillas... it was amazing either way. I will be turning our Thanksgiving leftovers into these amazing enchilada too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made a few changes just to bump up the flavor and not have chicken and cream cheese flavored enchiladas. I cooked the chicken breasts in chicken broth that had sauteed onion, garlic and a bit of homemade taco seasoning. When it had finished cooking, I seperated the meat from the broth and saved the part of the broth for this recipe (and the rest for another future recipe). When I cooked the filling, I added 1/2 yellow onion, upped the garlic to eight cloves and tossed in one large chopped organic red pepper. I used reduced fat cream cheese and 1/2 cup of the broth I'd cooked the chicken in instead of plain water. I added in a dash of each spice to the filling: cumin, oregano, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, chopped cilantro. I got ten very well filled enchiladas. I used fat free half-n-half over the top and sprinkled fresh cilantro over the top. I haven't served it to my family yet but I snuck a taste (or two) from the pan while I was assembling the enchiladas and my goodness, that's GOOD. I highly suggest you try this with the added spices. I think that if I'd added a couple tablespoons of ketchup and some sauteed mushrooms (OMG, why did I NOT add mushrooms?), I'd darn near have Quick Pollo Con Crema. I'm for SURE making this again. EDITED: My husband thought these were a little too much and I have to agree with him. They lost something in the baking process. Next time, we'll do that and forgo the baking and the extra cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAM's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Awesome!! Best enchiladas I have ever had!! I baked my chicken in the oven with spices and used the juices to pour over the shredded chicken! It added such good flavor! Doubled the sauce... So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAM's Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
cooked this recipe for years I get family and neighbor requests for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
So good! I made the chicken filling as written, just changed up the sauce which I think turned out great. To cut calories and add more flavor I strained the chicken broth I poached the chicken pieces in. I added a can of cream of jalapeno soup ( yes-first for me too!) and a cup of low fat milk. Reduced this for about 45 min and adjusted seasonings. This became our enchilada sauce -delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was delicious!!! I added some fresh cilantro to the sauce and did not use the full 1 cup of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Wow! I think these enchiladas are perfect. What else can I say? The heavy cream picks up flavors from the cheeses and garlic to make a sauce that is surprisingly delicious. Please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zephyrboiy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Best enchiladas EVER! My husband loves enchiladas, but I never like the red sauces. This cream sauce is amazing and the entire family loved them. Even though it has jalapeno and green chile peppers, its not too spicy. My kids (ages 7 and 9) said it was their new favorite dinner. The only changes I made were roasting the chicken instead of boiling and adding a bit of onion when I sauted the jalapeno. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I make these enchiladas with the Texas Enchilada Sauce from this site (BF prefers red sauce). I use corn tortillas, though - just my preference for enchiladas. I also add a little cilantro in the mixture. This is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe but I prefer enchiladas made with corn tortillas, not flour. I made a few modifications and used a can of cream of chicken soup mixed in with the cream cheese. Nice extra little kick. I also used regular milk and omitted the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States