Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fabulous recipe, easy and the filling comes together so well - I was worried about the cream cheese, cheese and water mixture being a big sloppy mess but it was great! I did use enchilada sauce in the pan for dipping the tortillas in and over the top followed by cheese and heavy cream. Whew! Big hit! Filling and made enough for an army! Works well with a rotisserie chicken! Great timesaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VallartaTiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I love that it is so easy and pleased the whole family, 1 1/2 year old included. Thanks so much for sharing. I made the recipe two ways, one with cumin spice and chili seasoning, and the other without. If you like a little zip, add the spices. Either way is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this the first time exactly as the recipe states and it was wonderful. Second time, I shredded a rotisserie chicken, added half a can of enchilada sauce and added a little taco seasoning. Just a little more wonderful. Third time, added a little salsa to the cheese mix and added some enchildad sauce to the cream. Fourth time, I went back to the original recipe. Love these and will continue to make. Always use chicken broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maricris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made exactly per the recipe, and they were pretty yummy. They are very rich and cheesy, so a little goes a long way. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I feel they could have used a little spice. Next time I make them, I'll add cumin and chili powder to the cheese sauce, and I won't remove all of the seeds from the jalapeno peppers, as this dish would definitely benefit from a little heat. All in all, good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My entire family loved these enchiladas! very easy to make and will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I cut the amount of chicken in half and added a can of black beans in its place. I was worried about the filling being bland so I added half a packet of fiesta ranch dip mix. I also topped it off with black olives and chopped green onions. The cream over the top really made this recipe. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We totally loved this! I had never used the cream over the top method before, and it just made it so crispy and flavorful!! I used more green chiles, but other than that, it was perfect for me (mexican food junkie) and my kids (picky)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
By far the best enchiladas of my life.. I know it sounds crazy but I'm dreaming of when I get to make them again. We changed it up a little using drum sticks instead of breast (it's all we had on hand). We also used both corn and flour tortillas... it was amazing either way. I will be turning our Thanksgiving leftovers into these amazing enchilada too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made a few changes just to bump up the flavor and not have chicken and cream cheese flavored enchiladas. I cooked the chicken breasts in chicken broth that had sauteed onion, garlic and a bit of homemade taco seasoning. When it had finished cooking, I seperated the meat from the broth and saved the part of the broth for this recipe (and the rest for another future recipe). When I cooked the filling, I added 1/2 yellow onion, upped the garlic to eight cloves and tossed in one large chopped organic red pepper. I used reduced fat cream cheese and 1/2 cup of the broth I'd cooked the chicken in instead of plain water. I added in a dash of each spice to the filling: cumin, oregano, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, chopped cilantro. I got ten very well filled enchiladas. I used fat free half-n-half over the top and sprinkled fresh cilantro over the top. I haven't served it to my family yet but I snuck a taste (or two) from the pan while I was assembling the enchiladas and my goodness, that's GOOD. I highly suggest you try this with the added spices. I think that if I'd added a couple tablespoons of ketchup and some sauteed mushrooms (OMG, why did I NOT add mushrooms?), I'd darn near have Quick Pollo Con Crema. I'm for SURE making this again. EDITED: My husband thought these were a little too much and I have to agree with him. They lost something in the baking process. Next time, we'll do that and forgo the baking and the extra cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAM's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Awesome!! Best enchiladas I have ever had!! I baked my chicken in the oven with spices and used the juices to pour over the shredded chicken! It added such good flavor! Doubled the sauce... So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAM's Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States