Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, restaurant quality. I did tweak a couple of things but it wasn't a significant tweak, just added about 1/2 cup of Carlita's mild enchilada sauce to the bottom of the baking dish before putting the enchiladas in there. I also warmed the cream in the microwave and dipped each tortilla in it separately just before filling them. The tortilla folds and holds together easier that way and I use less cream. I then poured the red enchilada sauce over the top... you could use green/verde if you wanted to. This is a very versatile recipe. I can only find Carlita's brand at Shoppers and normally we get the medium but they were out of it. Otherwise, and except for using low fat cream cheese, I kept everything else the same. It was delish and easier than most other recipes I've found for enchiladas! I served the Carlita's enchilada sauce on the side in case anyone wanted to use it. I should look for an enchilada sauce recipe on this site to use next time. The 10 inch toritillas are enormous, I think I could scale that down a bit to 8 inch and have slightly smaller enchiladas and more of them. Can't WAIT to have this as leftovers for lunch today. Served with Alan's Mom's Mexican Rice. Excellent recipe, will make this many more times, and thinking of having a margarita party this summer, I think I'll make these to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
made exactly as directed except I used a homemade enchilada sauce. This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Oh.My.Gosh. These are so easy and so delicious! I have a supper club at my house once a week and serve 12 people each time, and I seriously think they'd eat this every week if I'd make it for them! The changes I made are pretty insignificant. I used boneless skinless breasts (just for my own convenience) and eliminated the jalapeno to make sure everyone in the group could handle it. I substituted a healthy amount of green onion instead, and added a pinch or two of adobe seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These taste okay I guess, The flavor is very rich. Not a bad dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I love this, my fave enchilada recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made two changes: I added fresh spinach to the chicken/cream cheese mix and I heated the heavy cream and thickened it a little with corn starch. I served salsa along side it and after initially tasting it, my teenage son added a LOT of salsa. He said that it tasted like chicken & cream cheese without the salsa. He also suggested that I rate it only one star (couldn't eat it) until I pointed out that he cleaned his plate. He responded by saying "it was dinner...only you & I are home...the polite thing to do it eat it." I don't think I'll make it again as I have other enchilada recipes that my entire family likes. If you make it, I suggest adding taco seasonings to the chicken as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Can't even describe how delicious these are. This recipe tasted just the way I had hoped for - indeed, the satisfaction quotient is absolutely off the charts. We gobbled them down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was wonderful, I had company over for dinner the first time I tried it and everyone loved. They even asked for the recipe. I followed some of the other reviews and substituted chicken broth for the water. I also added a whole onion and green pepper to the filling. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is the best kind of enchiladas I have ever made! No more buying canned sauces again! Next time I might add more veggies to the chicken filling, but so good on its own too!! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was very good, but very rich! The filling is very creamy and heavy. Delicious, but you can only eat one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States