Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm not a fan of lamb so we used buffalo/bison. This is one of our new, easy, yet so flavorful favorites! We could easily eat this every week. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was okay. A bit bland, in my opinion though.I used ground beef instead of lamb, and kernel corn instead of peas. Based on other reviews, I increased the tomato sauce to about 12 oz, but found it a bit liquidy. It also required a 9 x 13 baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My first attempt making Shepherd's Pie; total success!!! Omitted peas, substituted ground turkey for lamb. A few other tweaks, but overall a really awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe as did my mother and father. I baked the pie in a 13x9 pan. I used hamburger in place of ground lamb. I think it would also be good with deer burger. The "with meat" review is based on the feedback of 3 family members. I also made a small dish without meat for myself, and I review that at the bottom of this post. The pie is very filling, so I gave some of the pie to my mom and kept some of it for my husband and myself. All told, we got four (2 person) meals out of it. It also freezes well. I'm making it again tonight, and my mother requested the recipe. You do taste the rutabagas alot, as I was hoping. It's a bit of a strange taste if you've never had them, but they are very good. (I had a rutabaga sandwich in London, but since I couldn't find a recipe for that, I decided on the Whitechapel pie.) I highly recommend this recipe as it is good for you, filling, rather cheap to make, and freezes well. It takes some time to cut up all the vegetables, but the result is well worth it. VEGETARIANS: the recipe is great with soy "burger" crumbles. I've made it that way several times now, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
After a few modifications this recipe turned out wonderfully! I used instant garlic mashed potatoes to save time. I didn’t use any rutabaga, but added a whole can of early peas, doubled the parsnips, and added a can of mushrooms. I also used a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I’ll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This worked out really well. I made the potatoes from scratch and didn't have the rutabaga, but everything else was great. I agree with the other reviewers that one more can of tomato sauce should be added to the recipe. The Parmesan cheese is the key here -- I would say the more the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I actually substituted Ground beef for the lamb and used frozen peas with pearl onions and added a small can of portabella mushrooms as well as twice the tomato sauce. Wow!!! It's wonderful and easy to make. It will become a regular at our house, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was very good! I substituted the following:I used about 1/2 small bag of baby carrots,leftover sliced mushrooms for the parsnip and rutabaga. Instead of frozen peas, I added a small can of peas to the beef mixture. I also used a 16 oz can of tomato sauce. Easy to make and quick to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brogie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I loved this. I was home sick with a cold and didn't want to go shopping so I did have to improvise. I didn't have parsnip or rutabaga, I did have a good lb of mushrooms, I cooked them separately in olive oil with garlic. I added them to the vegetables before baking after draining them. I didn't have sage, I did add a bit of cinnamon. I used both sweet and regular potatoes. I used beef instead of lamb. There is way more then 4 servings. 6 conservatively. VERY good, I also added chopped chives to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good, I will use real potatoe next time, this time I used instant just because i was pressed for time...I don't know how I feel about the rutabaga, it tasted so good but I have never cooked with them before and had a lot of trouble cutting it, lol...It was super good though!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States