White and Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Excellent recipe, very easy to prepare and came out great. Could be a little better with some extra herbs and spices thrown in though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This has great potential but lacks a bit of seasoning, I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth figuring that would help but it wasn't enough. I also added thyme garlic and onion powder. I will have to play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Other reviewers' criticisms of this recipe, that it lacked seasoning, was exactly what I liked about it! I was serving a spicier entree, blackened fish, and wanted a rice dish that was more subtle in flavor than the fish, but that still had a little more flavor and presentation quality than just plain rice. This was perfect! Exactly what I had in mind. Pretty and colorful, delicately flavored, with a pleasant nuttiness from the wild rice, this was the ideal side dish to complement a spicier meat or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I too made this to go with some blackened fish, and I loved it. It had just enough flavor but didn't take anything away from the meat. I liked the chunks of carrots and celery as well. Looks pretty good, tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
a little bland but very good. Went well with chicken cordon blue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We liked this pilaf a lot. On its own it was a teeny bit bland, but it complimented the spiciness of "Blackened tuna steaks with mango salsa" recipe (from this site also) perfectly! Also, it is an interesting change from plain white rice, and contains many veggies, which is good for you. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was good - I used chicken broth otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Nice side dish but no wow factor going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I've made this recipe a few times...The first "as is" and then tinkering with it a bit. Here are the changes that I would recommend: 1.) Use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth - especially if you are using this dish to accompany poultry. 2.) Add 2 chicken boullion cubes when you add the broth. This gives the dish the extra needed flavor. My family loves it - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this savory pilaf! It went great with the Cornish game hens I served for Easter dinner. I would have given this 5 stars, but I had to doctor it slightly. The chopped veggies added color and rounded out the texture and flavor. (I chopped up some mushrooms along with the carrots, celery, and onion.) Also, I used chicken broth as per other suggestions. I knew it would be a little too bland, especially from what other reviewers said, so I added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp dried tarragon, 1/4 tsp. dried thyme, a few dashes of cumin, and a few grinds from my pepper mill. I'll be making this again--a hearty, satisfying, versatile side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Hi this was an excelent choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States