White and Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Excellent recipe, very easy to prepare and came out great. Could be a little better with some extra herbs and spices thrown in though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I've made this recipe a few times...The first "as is" and then tinkering with it a bit. Here are the changes that I would recommend: 1.) Use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth - especially if you are using this dish to accompany poultry. 2.) Add 2 chicken boullion cubes when you add the broth. This gives the dish the extra needed flavor. My family loves it - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Other reviewers' criticisms of this recipe, that it lacked seasoning, was exactly what I liked about it! I was serving a spicier entree, blackened fish, and wanted a rice dish that was more subtle in flavor than the fish, but that still had a little more flavor and presentation quality than just plain rice. This was perfect! Exactly what I had in mind. Pretty and colorful, delicately flavored, with a pleasant nuttiness from the wild rice, this was the ideal side dish to complement a spicier meat or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a great side dish for fish. It's also a great starting point to add whatever herbs and spices you desire. I added 1 tsp. basil and 1/2 tsp. thyme, as well as salt and pepper. I also used chicken broth. The cooking time and amount of liquid were just right since the wild rice came out nice and tender. One thing the recipe does not mention is that you should always rinse the wild rice before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this savory pilaf! It went great with the Cornish game hens I served for Easter dinner. I would have given this 5 stars, but I had to doctor it slightly. The chopped veggies added color and rounded out the texture and flavor. (I chopped up some mushrooms along with the carrots, celery, and onion.) Also, I used chicken broth as per other suggestions. I knew it would be a little too bland, especially from what other reviewers said, so I added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp dried tarragon, 1/4 tsp. dried thyme, a few dashes of cumin, and a few grinds from my pepper mill. I'll be making this again--a hearty, satisfying, versatile side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome - I used chicken broth and it was really good. also did 3/4C wild rice and 3/4C white rice. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent rice, everyone enjoyed this one. I put all the vegetables in food processor to make it faster and really get it chopped up. 1-2-3 it was very easy to make, and got requests to have it again. Great flavor. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This has great potential but lacks a bit of seasoning, I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth figuring that would help but it wasn't enough. I also added thyme garlic and onion powder. I will have to play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Perfect blend of flavor and color. To those who thought it too bland, PILAF means rice cooked in seasoned broth. It should be rated for what it is, not criticized for what it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil
Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I didn't think it was bland at all. Rice traditionally isn't a grain that needs extra flavor, in my opinion. The only changes I would make are to add salt and pepper. I also use vegetable or chicken broth interchangeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States