White and Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I used the advise of the other reviewers and this Pilaf was fantastic. Very easy. I only had cooked wild and white rice on hand, so after I sauted the vegetables I added in the cooked rice and about 3/4 cup of chicken stock, let the stock cook off and it was perfect. My entire family loved it. Served it with a proscuitto wrapped stuffed chicken breast with herbed goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a really yummy recipe! I saute the veggies in a pan for 5-8 minutes then I transfer it to a rice cooker and finish it in there! I have swapped out the veggie broth with chicken and beef depending on what I serve it with. It is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferlev01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good, nothing too amazing here but a good solid side for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Delicious and a welcome change from the usual side dish. Like many others I also substituted chicken broth. In addition I added some poultry seasoning (about 1 tsp) and fresh ground black pepper towards the end of the cooking time. It was great with turkey breast. Nice enough for dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a nice classic pilaf, I liked it a lot. I scaled to 4 servings and used about 3/4 of a green bell pepper. Never could taste the pepper, so next time I'll either skip it altogether or add more. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and used brown Jasmine instead of white rice. In pilafs I always like to saute the raw rice with the vegetables for a few minutes before adding the liquid, It seems to give it a better texture and better separation when the grains are lightly coated in oil. Because both rices needed a a long cooking time I put them both in the sauce pan at the same time. Turned out they needed longer to cook, I think a little more then an hour. Mushrooms and toasted almonds would be great in this. I'm happy with this one, it made for a nice side dish to pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Tasty recipe! I'm not a big carb or rice fan but this was a winning side dish with my salmon. I didn't have all the ingredients and used a few substitutions to make this dish last minute. i stirred in a creamy veg "cup of soup" after boiling the wild rice and then added the heated carrots, onions, and garlic. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good dish! I wanted a rice pilaf dish that was more subtle and light in flavor for the bbq chicken kabobs I was serving tonight, but that still had a nice presentation than just the plain ole' white rice we normally eat. I used a little red, orange and green bell peppers, chopped. I sauteed red onions with garlic in olive oil then added the carrots and peppers. I had a 16 oz. bag of Hinode White and Wild Rice that I picked up for $3.00. I stirred that in the pot along with the vegetable broth. I seasoned with a little salt and black pepper to taste. This was the perfect side dish! It was noticeably pretty and colorful, and it was delicately flavored. All of the vegetables rounded out the texture. The ingredients, directions and cooking time were approximate. I served this side dish alongside, "Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This fits the bill perfectly. My son had been wanting some pilaf, so I went looking for a wild rice pilaf that didn't use brown rice. Left out the carrots and celery, but added mushrooms. Used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. The family raved about it. Nice addition to my repertoire. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contented Home-maker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
needs salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Both DH and 18-year old son really liked this. They said it might not have been as good on its own but it paired really well the Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken (from this site) and made the meal terrific. Modifications: used 1 tbsn butter instead of olive oil. Added 2 finely chopped mushrooms. Added 1 tspn better than boullion (chicken) to low sodium no fat chicken broth. I sauted the vegies until the shrooms reduced (maybe 10 min) then added half of the liquid and the wild rice. Let simmer for 30 minutes. Then added remaining liquid and white rice and let simmer for another 20 minutes. I probably let it simmer without the lid for about 5 minutes at the end. Stirred in about 4 tbsn toasted slivered almonds before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States