White and Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
The recipe has "good bones", but it needs more flavor. I would make this again, but I need to spice it up next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The taste and color of this dish is excellent. I made this exactly as recipe listed. You can change some ingredients and probably still have good food. Why risk it though?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Best rice pilaf I've ever eaten and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Made this for a church meal for about 60 people. Made my own broth using celery, carrots, garlic, and chicken thighs. I only added carrots and celery to the dish and it turned out great! Looked just like the picture! I would definitely make it again but add more chicken flavor, maybe some bouillon. I love the nutty favor of the wild rice. I wonder how it would be using brown rice instead of the white.... hummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Really love this. I do add more pepper and salt. I also use chicken broth instead. Really nice with salmon or pork on the side. Beautiful dish to offer guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I've been on healthy journey and this was a great meal to start off a great year. I didn't use the entire onion or the entire two garlic gloves, but everything else I used completely. I did add a little extra seasoning that consisted of onion powder, garlic powder and some salt. Everything was perfect and my picky family even enjoyed it. I can't wait to make this tasty meal again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Really loved this recipe!!! The reason I gave it a four is I also added a lot to it but the measurements and proportions were perfect. I used chicken both even though I eat a 90% vegan direct. I also juice so had tons of veggies in the fridge which lessons the carb count to this dish. But the fresh parsley and sliced almonds were a perfect touch to this recipe. This was our main course so I server it with quinoa flat bread. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I deviated from the recipe a little so I could use my rice cooker. Less babysitting that way. I bought a wild rice mix from the bulk foods at Winco, so I just put mine in the rice cooker with a couple of bouillon cubes for flavor. I cut up the celery, onion, carrots and sauted them with a splash of oil and some garlic, keeping the veggies firm. I then added a bunch of chopped green onions and zucchini toward the end, just barely letting the zuc soften. When the rice was done I combined it with the veggies, and my family loved it. I think it could use a few shakes of basil and oregano but they liked it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Great rice pilaf! Subtle flavors, just like rice pilaf should be. I used homemade chicken broth to keep the sodium down and added fresh mushrooms. This paired well with a spicy seasoned grilled chicken breast and garlic, rosemary, and butter sugar snap peas. The whole family loved it! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This rice turned out wonderful! I used 3/4 cup jasmine rice and 3/4 cup wild rice. I had no broth, so I made some using 3 1/2 cups water and 5 bullion cubes, since other reviewers mentioned using more.I didn't use carrots, because I had none, and I used only 1/2 stalk celery. I sprinkled in some cilantro and 2 dashes of Chinese 5 Spice. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States