White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I have made this power the recipe and it's fabulous. Today i added 3 T ground golden flax seed and 1/2 cup teff flour for a little nutrition, and it's fabulous. I always use AP flour because that's what I have. Note for high altitude basers: baking at over a mile high, you don't knead add long as recipes say. It toughens the bread. Just knead until it is elastic and smooth, however long that takes. A few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is very good bread with easy to follow directions.We love it. Lorraine and James Spaulding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love this recipe! It does seem to take awhile with all the rising but it's definitely worth it! I cut this recipe in half to make only one loaf, comes out perfect and the taste of this bread is awesome! I'm making another loaf right now, I'm in between one of the risings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Husband has been eating all of the bread I have been making but he says this one is the most like his grandma's bread! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Approximately 40 years ago I use to make a white bread recipe that was absolutely delicious. I lost the recipe and have by comparison been disappointed in every white bread recipe I tried.....until now. This is it!! Thank you so much RobBob for putting this old recipe out there. It is a winner!! I used King Arthur AP flour, lard instead of shortening, and SAF red instant yeast which doesn't need to be proofed, so I added 1/2 cup water to the milk. Put everything in my bread machine on dough cycle. Took it out after the first rise, plopped it into a bowl for the second rise, and into my bread pans for last rise. Perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Honing my break making skills and trying lots of different recipes. This, by far, resulted in my greatest loaves. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I was looking for an easy, basic bread recipe to make hot dogs wrapped in bread. This one fit the bill perfectly. The bread was very easy to make, it turned out perfectly (even though I used margarine instead of shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Since the weather is starting to cool off, I got a wild idea that it was time to try my hand at baking bread. All I can say is WOW! I am apparently a fabulous baker...or more accurately this recipe is not only easy to follow but fantastic as well. The steps are clear and easy to follow. The only changes I made were using butter instead of shortening (I don't keep it in my house) and using only 1/4 cup of sugar. I decided to share 1/2 a loaf with my parents to get an honest opinion (yes, my mother will tell it like it is and not sugar-coat it) and I got a call this morning asking if I was taking orders because she wanted two more loaves because she couldn't stop eating it. Don't be scared by the number of steps and the length of each because it really is very easy, just takes a while to complete but WELL worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
i have several recipes for white bread but this one is by far the best so far! Love the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Finally a recipe like my Dad used to make when I was a kid. Real milk, real egg, yeast! Healthy bread!. It was so yummy, thank you. It tasted and smelled like real bread, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States