White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
awesome- reliable & delicious. my family finally approves of the bread i made, lol (i.e., not wheat or sourdough or rye- actual white bread.) as fine a white loaf as i've ever tasted, & foolproof (this is the 3rd time i've made it). my husband is very glad he got me a kitchenaid mixer for christmas last year! he is on a low carb diet, & even he eats this bread. i usually just throw it all in the mixer (except for the last cup of flour, which i add gradually if needed); i use a good white bread flour, & knead for about 10 minutes. also, i usually make something else with the extra dough (as it is a two-loaf recipe); it makes fine cinnamon rolls, & this time, hot dog buns. the best review i've ever written here- the best recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This bread bakes wonderfully. I substituted all-purpose flour for some of the bread flour, and I didn't use all of the flour called for (2 1/2 cups bread flour, about 3 cups all purpose). If you put butter on the bread before plopping it in the oven the crust turns out great. Keep the bread warm when it rises and it will bake nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
O M G! I'm not really a fan of 'white' bread but made this thinking to use it for homemade Panko bread crumbs. Well, I ended up eating the bread! Yum YUM! I did 1/2 the recipe and used lard vs shortening. Man, I'm making the whole recipe next time...it's that good! I did decrease the sugar a bit and glad I did, it was plenty sweet. I could barely contain the dough it was rising so fast but that's okay. I like the 3 rise method but I think when I go with full recipe I'll use only 1 package of yeast. I'm sure that will be plenty. Anyway...was soooooo good with fresh egg salad or sliced while still warm w/some butter. I may attempt to replace 1 C of white with wheat flour but no more than that. I don't want it to become heavy. Thanks for this recipe...I LOVE IT! Oh, I did add a T of fresh chopped rosemary and I feel you could turn this into any herb flavored bread of your liking. I'm sure this would make awesome dinner rolls or dough for cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thornywaffles
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Thank you SO much!! I love baking but bread has always been my nemesis, I could create Italian and Spanish inspired wonders but the secret to regular bread had eluded me for nearly a year. This recipe has changed everything! It turned out amazing, it has a nice flaky crust with a beautiful savoury, buttery flavour. I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, and for fear of lack of flavour added 1/2 tsp of salt. This baker is very happy, thanks for giving me confidence with bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thornywaffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I did use butter instead of shortening. I did make rolls instead of a loaf...they melted in my mouth. I will throw away all my old bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Since the weather is starting to cool off, I got a wild idea that it was time to try my hand at baking bread. All I can say is WOW! I am apparently a fabulous baker...or more accurately this recipe is not only easy to follow but fantastic as well. The steps are clear and easy to follow. The only changes I made were using butter instead of shortening (I don't keep it in my house) and using only 1/4 cup of sugar. I decided to share 1/2 a loaf with my parents to get an honest opinion (yes, my mother will tell it like it is and not sugar-coat it) and I got a call this morning asking if I was taking orders because she wanted two more loaves because she couldn't stop eating it. Don't be scared by the number of steps and the length of each because it really is very easy, just takes a while to complete but WELL worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Fantastic!!! Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
i have several recipes for white bread but this one is by far the best so far! Love the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Finally a recipe like my Dad used to make when I was a kid. Real milk, real egg, yeast! Healthy bread!. It was so yummy, thank you. It tasted and smelled like real bread, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is the best yet, I tend to try all the breads and this one is the best! Takes some time but love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States