White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
awesome- reliable & delicious. my family finally approves of the bread i made, lol (i.e., not wheat or sourdough or rye- actual white bread.) as fine a white loaf as i've ever tasted, & foolproof (this is the 3rd time i've made it). my husband is very glad he got me a kitchenaid mixer for christmas last year! he is on a low carb diet, & even he eats this bread. i usually just throw it all in the mixer (except for the last cup of flour, which i add gradually if needed); i use a good white bread flour, & knead for about 10 minutes. also, i usually make something else with the extra dough (as it is a two-loaf recipe); it makes fine cinnamon rolls, & this time, hot dog buns. the best review i've ever written here- the best recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Fantastic!!! Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I just halved this recipe and made it for rolls for lunch. Very good. Like a previous poster, I used a stand mixer and had to hold back some of the flour to keep it from climbing the dough hooks. (I kneaded this back into it after the first rising.) The crust was a little less crusty than I wanted, but next time I will spray with a bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Excellent recipe; thank you! My bread had a lot of lift; made huge loafs. Not too sweet. I only used about 6 cups of flour. I did make one change and substituted butter for the shortening. I also used a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This bread bakes wonderfully. I substituted all-purpose flour for some of the bread flour, and I didn't use all of the flour called for (2 1/2 cups bread flour, about 3 cups all purpose). If you put butter on the bread before plopping it in the oven the crust turns out great. Keep the bread warm when it rises and it will bake nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I bake bread for Communion and this is perfect for what is needed. Takes time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good! I used my kitchen aid. Used 6 1/2 cups of flour, hand kneading in the last 1/2 c. in. My loaves got a little too brown but that was my fault for baking about 40 min and not checking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good white bread. Very soft. Really easy to work with. I did use butter instead of shortening since that is what I had on hand, also used AP flour. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I did use butter instead of shortening. I did make rolls instead of a loaf...they melted in my mouth. I will throw away all my old bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe but I only needed one loaf of bread so I reduced the original recipe to half so 10 for US measurement rather than 20 as the recipe suggests. I used butter instead of shortening and for the flour, I only used about 2 1/2 cups. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States