White Wine Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
One of the best soups I have ever made, and I make soup a lot. Healthy but filling, and soooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is so good! I followed the ingredients and directions closely, but I added garlic, sliced yellow squash, and fresh rosemary and waited an hour before adding the potatoes so they wouldn't turn to mush. I also used smoked chicken breast that I had left over from a cookout- yum! This will be a great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was absolutely yummy!!! I did things pretty differently, but I would have never thought about putting these ingredients together. I didn't want the vegetables to be mushy so I staggered adding them. First of all, I used leftover roast chicken from the night before, picked from the bone. I used vidalia onions and sauteed them in olive oil for a few minutes, then smashed the garlic cloves and threw those in. Then I added the chicken, seasonings (I added bay leaf too), the wine and cooking liquid (I substituted chicken broth for half of the water). I let this rapid boil for 30 minutes, then simmer for another 30. Then I added the celery. Waited 15 minutes, then added the potatoes. Waited 20 minutes, added the carrots. Then 15 minutes before serve, I added the zucchini and chopped parsley (I think fresh herbs brighten things up the most when added at the end.) It was absolutely perfect!! Thank you so much for this! My family was so happy that the whole pot was gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Wonderful soup with great flavor. I often make this, subbing in different vegetables based on what's in season and what I feel like combining. This is great any time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This soup was fantastic and pretty easy to make. I can't eat onion or garlic so I substituted 1/3 tsp of medium curry powder. I sauteed the celery and carrots (in olive oil) with fresh poultry herbs before adding everything else and added uncooked cubed chicken once the broth came to a boil. I left out the zucchini, added a turnip, an extra parsnip and used a yam instead of sweet potato. I also used the whole bottle of wine (de-alcholized from the grocery store worked just fine). It was great but be warned, it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious. I added a small ginger root, 7 bay leaves, 4oz canned mushrooms and 8oz box of frozen spinach. Ate this soup as a cold remedy and I feel much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Holy Yum! I upped the wine to the whole bottle and added extra water to balance it out. I also just got an already roasted garlic flavored chicken from the deli department and shredded the meat from that. It's a little work to get everything prepped, but after that you literally throw it all in and forget it for a few hours! I also added in some noodles at the very end. Overall a very tasty dish! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
its a little on the sweet side, i was looking for something more like chicken-noodle with a twist. however, my husband enjoyed it and i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup was very good and very filling. A great wintertime meal! True to ourselves, I needed to add just a little bit more spice to mine and my husband loved his the way it was. I followed the recipe with the exception of the parsnip and I used cut up chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. This is a great meal to make because you can really add or take away whichever veggies you want and I imagine it would still be delicious! I chopped all of the vegetables up pretty small, and next time I will probably cut them into larger pieces just for appearance sake. A really good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I used a packet of vegetable soup mix because I couldn't find chicken vegetable but other than that followed the recipe exactly. The smell that filled the house while it was cooking was exceptional. The end product, however, disappointed. We found the soup broth to be too sweet with a slightly off taste and the veggies too mushy. EDIT: The veggies were still mushy, obviously, but after a night in the fridge the flavor was much better and the broth did not taste as sweet. It was foolish of me to rate a soup before tasting it the next day since so many soups improve after mellowing overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States