White Wine Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this recipe minus the parsely and the vegetable chicken soup mix (not entirely sure what that is) and it was quite amazing. The second time I attempted this recipe, I tried it in a Crock pot. Not sure why, but it was really horrible. So don't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've made this soup a few times and the broth is amazing. My only complaint would be that the starchy vegetables break down into mush after it's been cooking for awhile and stirred often. If I made it again, I'd cut back on the starch and add more carrots, celery, and harder veggies. I'd also cut back a little bit on the amount of veggies to make it more brothy. Super tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This soup is a nice healthy treat, but I admit I liked it a little better with a some sour cream and cheese on top. It turned out very thick, hardly soupy at all, and that was even after I added a couple cups of chicken broth. If you like soupy soup, you'll need to add a lot more liquid. I couldn't find a half chicken, so I just used separate pieces (a breast, a thigh, and a couple of legs). Once the chicken was cooked and nice and tender, I used tongs to take the meat off the bone. My husband would have freaked out if he'd come across a bone in his soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I am used to having chicken soup with just the basics, carrots, celery, noodles and chicken so I was a little leary on trying this with so many ingredients. I have to say that it is absolutely wonderful and the best chicken soup I have had. I didn't have any zucchini so I just omitted that. I added a little more water than the recipe called for after reading the reviews and I added some chicken broth. Definately adding this recipe to my favorites. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the best chicken soup I have ever had. I admit that I played with the ingredients quite a bit, changing up the vegetables to what I had, but the base of this soup is so excellent that it seems you can do what you like. I made it with sweet potatoes, zucchini, potatoes, mushrooms, spinach, and added some thin egg noodles. It was delicious. I added an extra 2 cups of water and cooked the egg noodles separately (other reviewers mentioned it wasn't soupy enough). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
MMMMMM...have a pot on now that has been simmering for a few hours. It is fantastic...I am going to add some farfalle the last hour I cook it just because we like it.It is a very flexible recipe but I think the ingredients called for are the basics, you should try and use them then just add from there though our little country store didnt have parsnips, I had to do without. Cant say enough about how great this is!I did buy a good white wine...1/2 bottle in the soup and 1/2 bottle for myself. Thanks to you and your mom Miriam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Started this at 11:30 am for dinner....wow, the house was rich with the wonderful smells of this soup! Used chicken legs instead of half a chicken. I had everything on hand but the parsnips, can't wait to try it with them. Thank you for a soup that will be a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is without doubt,the best chicken soup I have ever made (or eaten). Really delicious, will be added to the family's mainstays. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I used a turkey leg to make it easier on myself, and browned it with onion first before putting it in a slow cooker. I added the zucchini in the last two hours, but it still came out a bit mushy, so I think I'll only cook it for one hour on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This chicken soup was awesome. Time consuming to make, but well worth the effort. Allow to simmer all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States