White Wine Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup is fantastic! It smells great and tastes even better. I think I went alittle crazy with the white wine, but its still good. Need a recipe to wow a mother-in-law, this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Awesome soup! Very tasty and easy. I used 2 turkey legs and simmered them with salt, pepper, rosemary and thyme instead of using the soup mix. SO yummy, makes an excellent broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Smelled great and taste good but all veg were way overcooked with that much boiling - giant mushy pile of glop. Chicken fell off the bones and had to sort through (this made 2 gallons!) to try and retrieve them. I'd make again but add veg later according to how long they take rather than throw all in together and cut recipe in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Ok, but not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this recipe and it was the best soup I had ever had in my entire life!! worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I couldn't wait to make this even though I was short a few of the vegetables. I didn't have the parsnips or sweet potatoes so I got working with everything else: it smelled heavenly and was tasting wonderful! Then I deboned the chicken and added the last two ingredients…and very nearly ruined the soup. The parsnips are absolutely disgusting! We picked out as many as we could but their nasty taste still is there in everything. I will definitely make this again, but without the parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyh1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious and healthy. Weight Watcher's Points Plus is 5, old Points system is 4. I can see where this can be very time consuming but I have a Bullet Express and a Ninja which helped speed up the chopping considerably. Using those I had it on and cooking within 30 minutes, or less. I let it cook about 5 hours. I put white potatoes in after cooking 3 hours. I also added a 10 oz. bag of green beans, used 4 c. chicken broth (low sodium), 1 packet of vegetable flavor boost from Swanson, 2/3 c. buttermilk, 3 stalks celery, 4 potatoes, 4 sweet potatoes. I do not drink wine or any liquor so had none on hand and did not use. Also, we don't add salt so it is up to each person to add. To let you know how much it makes (a lot), I used a 12 qt. stock pot and it "almost" was not big enough. It was "just" big enough. I also used 1/2 to 1 tsp. cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars for taste, but the directions are very vague (if you've never made homemade soup before) and there is not nearly enough liquid. Please precook your chicken in some water, and then debone, strain broth, and cool both. I usually boil any chicken carcasses I end up with, and freeze the broth, so that's what I used to thin the soup. I also had some leftover rice, so I threw that in at the end. All in all, a very tasty soup, and will probably make the again! (If you are having trouble with vegetables getting mushy, add the carrots, celery, and onions first, and then add the rest about 30 minutes later.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
idk what I did different than anyone else but I thought this was "ok" I let it simmer for HOURS and it was still "eh" In the end I ended up adding some curry and chicken boullion like others suggested, a little Patis and I think Ill add some milk to it (my mother in laws chicken soup trick:sounds gross but its really yummy) before I serve it. Im sure when my husband comes home he will try to add something else to it. I think Ill stick to my usual chicken soup recipe.. unless this ends up tasting a lot better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Delicious! This recipe will become a fall staple in my home. Thank you for such an excellent and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States