White Wine Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is good, but it could be better. Instead of mayonnaise, I used Miracle Whip (b/c it's what I had), but the difference between the two is slight. If I made this again, I'd use yogurt instead (not only a lower fat content, but it would also go better with the curry). I also agree with another comment to use 1TS of curry powder. I only used 1, and it was still a bit much for my wife (I loved it). With these tweaks, and perhaps others, it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Our family LOVES this dish so much we save it for company! The only changes I make are for my convenience and for the health of those who enjoy it. I make it using meat pulled and chopped from a deli-roasted chicken, discarding the skin (our Sam's Club has the best and there is enough meat on their big birds that I only use 1/2 of one chicken), and I use low fat: cheese, soup and mayonnaise. Very impressive when I serve it over brown rice. More guilt-free with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Karena, thank you for a tasty recipe for a pot luck supper. W
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was an easy receipe with items you would have in your cupboard and fridge. I would either cut the wine in half and mix with water, or substitute with chicken broth. The brocoli seemed to really soak up the wine and was too strong. I also cut the curry down to one tablespoon, which seemed perfect. I would make this again ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is now one of my favorites. I didn't use mayo, instead I put in an egg, vinegar, sugar, dried mustard to the wine/soup mix. I added crumbled bacon with the bread crumbs because I had some. Next time I will cube potatoes and add them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Giving five stars altho I didn't like the dish. But I didn't use all the listed ingredients, so I can't really rate. I didn't use chicken since I just wanted a broccoli casserole, nor did I use the curry. What I didn't care for was the mayo taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I would rate this recipe as 5 stars for easy to make with items most folks would have around their cupboard/fridge. However, 1 star for taste - whoa nelly on the curry - our family likes curry a lot and it was wayyyy too much. Maybe even make it without the curry at all and see how it turns out instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tom F
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I, being a curry lover, was impressed by this recipe when followed exactly as shown. My girlfriend, not knowing what curry was, was not impressed in the least. We feel that the cheese and curry don't go together, although I thought the Pinot Grigio and the curry did complement each other well. The chicken was juicy and flavorful, not dry or overdone in the least. I would cook this again for myself, but not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Well, I should have listened to the review that said "too much wine"! Wow! Was it strong! Even my fiance, who usually likes just about everything said this was too much for him. I didn't have enough Cheddar cheese so I used 1/2 fresh Parmesan & I didn't have any curry so I took the advice of another reviewer & used Italian seasoning. However, the next day, I gave leftovers to my parents & they loved it! Maybe the flavors just had to absorb more. I finished the casserole the next day & it was better than the first time but, still too much wine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States