White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this for my moms 30th wedding anniversary I was kind of worried because of all the negative reviews but this cake was Delicious it was light and moist Definitely going to make this again. Delicious. Thank You for the recipe Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Dry dry dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by upstgeu
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used this recipe to make my birthday cake and it was divine! Yes, that's right...I made my own d*** birthday cake, how pathetic is that? (ha) But I don't care, it was fun and yummy and I would do it again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The most amazing recipe, follow it to the letter and it turns out awesome! Fluffy, moist and perfect density for a cake or making cupcakes. Well done whoever made this up or passed it along, love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this cake for my own wedding. I put a strawberry filling between the layer and used a cream cheese frosting. Everyone loved it. My photograph told me it was the best wedding cake she has ever had and she has been to a lot of weddings. I have even made it for our anniversaries thank you for sharing this wonderfully yummy cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The looks of this cake was very pretty, so I was pleased when I pulled it from the oven. But just like the reviews say, it is dense and tasteless. It was moist though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have made this twice. The first time, I used a gluten-free flour blend I found on the Land 'O Lakes website. The rice flour made the texture a little gritty, but the flavor, density, and moistness were good. Most recently, I made it as directed and it was a little dry. I may have over-mixed it or over-baked it. Refrigerating it overnight would probably help. I'm going to try this one again. My home is at 7200 feet, and at high altitude, the decreased atmospheric pressure allows baked goods (and everything else) do dry more quickly. I might try adding more liquid. I didn't have problems with the center falling. If you do, you might need to add a little more flour to help strengthen the structure. At high altitude especially, the decreased air pressure allows baked good to expand more quickly. The lack of strucure doesn't allow them to hold, and they fall creating sunken craters in the middle. Even if you're not at high altitude, information in the book "Pie in the Sky" by Susan Purdy will help you better understand the baking process and trouble-shoot recipes. I believe this is a quality recipe and deserves more than one try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I must admit I was a little worried about using this for my nephews wedding cake because of some of the really negative reviews. However, it is a wonderful cake - it holds up very well as the bottom tier of a 3 tiered cake - it was moist and had a lovely vanilla flavour. Because I was filling it with raspberry buttercream I left out the orange and almond extracts. The problem others have had may be because they didn't use CAKE flour as the recipe dictates. I doubled sifted it and as a result it had a very fine crumb. I reduced the yield to 50 and it was just right - made in an 11" X 3" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very dry, too salty, tasted like cardboard cornbread NEVER again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Something is wrong with the recipe. It did not make. You should never mix a whole cup of sugar with egg whites. I should have known better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States