White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
Thanks Carol for this wonderful recipe. I made this wedding cake recipe for a wedding celebration for one of my co-workers. Everyone raved about it. They liked that it was a very traditional wedding cake. If you are old enough to have gotten white wedding cake in a cardboard box to take home from a wedding then you know what I am talking about. The cake is dense yet moist. It was very easy to cut to create the tiers. I used non-melting wax paper instead of parchment paper since I couldn't find parchment paper - it worked fine. I wouldn't call this cake "plain" but rather elegant and simple, it has a very slight fruity taste to it. I recommend you buy the shortening (Crisco) that is not butter flavored to keep the cake very white. I also made the ornamental icing, but did have to add a bit more cream to get it smooth enough. You definitely need to use a large mixer rather than a hand-held to mix the frosting. The ornamental icing recipe frosted the cake, decorated it, and still plenty was left over. My friend decorated it and the cake looked gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I thought that from all the fairly positive reviews that this was going to be a pretty good cake. I made it twice and the cakes fell both times. (silly me, I thought it would turn out better the second time) The texture was that of a dry, crumbly angel food cake. Not the kind of cake to slice and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
OK, I have baked for over 30 years and this is simply the most delicious wedding cake! Yes, it is more like a pound cake, but most folks like that. We live in China, and I had to bake it in an impossible tiny oven and it still was moist and delicious!!! Only one problem-there is no way that 3 tiers of 5, 8, and 10 inches add up to 150 servings. DO the math! Most cake pages will tell you that at the most an 8 and a 10 inch put togther will give you 30 servings, add the 5 inch layer and I am mystified that you get to 150 servings. Perhaps if you make 4 of them! I used the 150 serving recipe to make 2 9x13s, with 32 servings each (about a 2x2),but you could stretch that to 48 each for a total of 96 servings-max! And that would be a very tiny serving. Why would you want to serve a postage stamp slice of this delicious cake? I read the other reviews but was puzzled that no one else commented on the portions being wrong. Would love to see how anyone got 150 servings out of this. Liz May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Recipe servings have been modified from 150 servings to 50 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I tried this and it came out GREAT!!! Nice recipe Carol!! Nice dense texture. I made this cake as a request for Valentine's day. I marbled my cake and the white/chocolate blend was just right. there was enough batter to make 2 full 8" cakes and the 10" as the recipe says. We tried some of it the day it was baked and it was a bit dry and bland. The following day, we tried it again and what a difference!!! The extra time allows the full flavor to come through. The cake was layered with chocolate ganache. Then topped with another layer of ganache, striped with white chocolate and trimed with almond buttercream roses. ABSOUTELY MARVELOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this cake for my parents' 25th wedding anniversary party and everyone loved it. I didn't have orange extract on hand, so I used almond and vanilla instead; it was wonderful. I will be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I got so many compliments with this cake! I used vanilla extract instead of the orange. I also didn't make a tier cake. I used one batch to make a dozen cupcakes, one character pan, and one double layer 6" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Made this for my brother's wedding. Changed one thing. Instead of orange extract added a little vanilla extract and added less quantities of the extracts than called for. I used a buttercream icing for the top and sides of the cake, and nutella in between the layers, and decorated with ferrero rocher chocolates. THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I used this recipe for my best friend's wedding after trying two others. It is WONDERFUL! Maybe those that said it was dry over whipped their egg whites because I did not find that to be the case with my cake. I did have to double the recipe to produce thick enough layers with a 12", 8", and 5" round pans. We did fill the layers with strawberry and lemon fillings and that did help with the moistness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Really good cake. More like a sponge cake, and seemed dry. I scaled it to make 24 servings made that's why. I'll try again and 150 serving scale.But overall the best scratch cake I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States