White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I tried this and it came out GREAT!!! Nice recipe Carol!! Nice dense texture. I made this cake as a request for Valentine's day. I marbled my cake and the white/chocolate blend was just right. there was enough batter to make 2 full 8" cakes and the 10" as the recipe says. We tried some of it the day it was baked and it was a bit dry and bland. The following day, we tried it again and what a difference!!! The extra time allows the full flavor to come through. The cake was layered with chocolate ganache. Then topped with another layer of ganache, striped with white chocolate and trimed with almond buttercream roses. ABSOUTELY MARVELOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Made this for my brother's wedding. Changed one thing. Instead of orange extract added a little vanilla extract and added less quantities of the extracts than called for. I used a buttercream icing for the top and sides of the cake, and nutella in between the layers, and decorated with ferrero rocher chocolates. THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I thought that from all the fairly positive reviews that this was going to be a pretty good cake. I made it twice and the cakes fell both times. (silly me, I thought it would turn out better the second time) The texture was that of a dry, crumbly angel food cake. Not the kind of cake to slice and fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This cake is wonderful! I used this recipe to make my first ever wedding cake. I made a 3 tier cake (12" bottom, 9" middle, 6" top) with 3 - 1 inch layers for each tier. I tripled the recipe and used an additional 2/3 of a recipe. You could probably cut it down to 3 recipes total and be fine because I ended up cutting quite a bit off the tops. It is a little dry, but the frosting moistens it. I did a practice run with the recipe and didn't use the almond extract. The cake was too tart. It is perfect with the orange and almond extract combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is perfect I was searching for a cake for my wedding my search is over this cake is perfect who could ask for anything more. Those that found fault with this recipe must have done something wrong. I followed exactly its plenty moist actually a very light cake. Thanks for the recipe its a winner. Bobby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This was not what I expected. The cake was dry and dense and the flavor was missing the rich flavor of wedding cake. To make it worse I used wedding cake icing on this website and had made a better crisco icing before. The orange extract should be cut in half and maybe I would use buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nebo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I was going to use this recipe for my sister's wedding. I couldn't even eat the cake! I was very disappointed with this recipe but glad that I tested it before the wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Recipe servings have been modified from 150 servings to 50 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
OK, I have baked for over 30 years and this is simply the most delicious wedding cake! Yes, it is more like a pound cake, but most folks like that. We live in China, and I had to bake it in an impossible tiny oven and it still was moist and delicious!!! Only one problem-there is no way that 3 tiers of 5, 8, and 10 inches add up to 150 servings. DO the math! Most cake pages will tell you that at the most an 8 and a 10 inch put togther will give you 30 servings, add the 5 inch layer and I am mystified that you get to 150 servings. Perhaps if you make 4 of them! I used the 150 serving recipe to make 2 9x13s, with 32 servings each (about a 2x2),but you could stretch that to 48 each for a total of 96 servings-max! And that would be a very tiny serving. Why would you want to serve a postage stamp slice of this delicious cake? I read the other reviews but was puzzled that no one else commented on the portions being wrong. Would love to see how anyone got 150 servings out of this. Liz May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States