White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made this cake for my dad's birthday and he loved it. Anyone who loves white cake will love this recipe. I just tweaked the recipe a little. I left out the orange extract and used lemon extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Oso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I actually made this cake for my own wedding. My first experience making a wedding cake. I have made bigger cakes in the past, but never NEEDED them to be perfect. Imagin my frustration when I realized that there was too much batter for the bowl. Oops. The cake was yummy but a little plain compaired to other weddings I have been to. However, finding this recipe and being able to make my own wedding cake was an amazing experience! My husband was VERY impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Okay all, I made this cake for my son's wedding. I loved it and received so many compliments. You do have to follow the directions to the letter, except I also used the vanilla and almond extracts. This cake is like an angel food cake but more dense. So all of you that tried it and failed try it again, I promise you will love it. This cake does take time and it does need to be refrigerated overnight before you eat it, so if you can't do these two things then try an easier cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I think this cake is wonderful. I'm sorry to say but, those of you who had a problem did something wrong. I've made it several times and have had fabulous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
NOT even worth one star but it made put a rating.. This is a HORRIBLE recipe DO NOT USE, it will waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I tried a serving size of 10 just to make sure that this is the cake that the bride may have wanted. I was very dissappointed. The cake literally crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Yum, yum, yum!!! Oh what a tragedy~! I was toying with the idea of making my own wedding cake...so I had my eye on this recipe. This cake is easy and delish, but wow...it completely FELL in the oven, looked like 2 giant craters in the cake pans when I looked in the oven. I figured that was fixable...well, they wouldn't come OUT of the pan! I'm not a professional baker, don't own any parchment and don't trust my oven not to start a fire....so when I turned the pans over, the 2 halves went to heck in a handbasket. Also...use regular baking vanilla. I tried the cake...delicious, spongy...not even close to what i was looking for...yet wonderful. It tastes like an orange creamsicle if you use that extract. I'm going to buy some vanilla pudding and salvage the wreck of a cake into a layered torte with madarin oranges and flaked coconut for my friend's birthday (the reason I was test-running the recipe). I say hire a regular baker unless you've got some wonder-oven, or are making cupcakes...or you don't care about presentation and can spoon some cake-ruin onto each guest's plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This cake had good flavor but it was dry and crumbled. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I got so many compliments with this cake! I used vanilla extract instead of the orange. I also didn't make a tier cake. I used one batch to make a dozen cupcakes, one character pan, and one double layer 6" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is the worst cake recipe I've ever tried. The cake crumbled and was very dry. I used 1 teaspoon vanilla extract instead of the almond and orange extracts. It tasted so bad, that the cake was ineatible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States