White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
If you read the reviews comparing this to "sweet cornbread," be warned: They weren't joking in the slightest. Don't waste your time on this recipe unless you actually want a recipe for cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very nice flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
As a trained chef in the field I have to say this recipe dissapointed me. I made it today for a mothers day dessert and found out the cake flavor is good it is not moist, too dry crumbles easily hardto frost and layer with fondant. I honestly would not recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis372006

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Christopher, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I loved this cake. The only thing I would change is the orange extract for vanilla but other wise it was easy and tasted great. I covered it with fondant with no problem, it was very sturdy but moist as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I wish I had read the reviews! Almost has the texture of cornbread. Very disappointing, don't waste your time, effort or money on this recipe! DOES NOT DESERVE 1 STAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This wedding cake was absolutely wonderful! It was perfectly moist and the density was perfect for covering with fondant. The only change I made was to use coconut extract instead of the orange. This recipe will be used for my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The recipe was pretty easy to follow, but it didn't turn out as light and moist as I was hoping. It was rather dense and dry, more like a pound cake. I think this would be useful if you needed something strong for making tiers, but otherwise the texture is not great, however the flavour was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This recipe tasted very blah and it was way too dense for the light white wedding cake I was going for. It was pretty bad. I started with another recipe. Don't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Mundane. Not a particularly bad cake, but not extraordinary. I scaled to 13 servings and it was perfect for a single 8 inch round cake. It didn't fall, the crumb was tender and the extracts were nice. However, it tasted flour-y and was quite dense. To me, it is an ordinary white cake, exactly the same as any home cook would whip up (and probably with less fuss). I will continue looking. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe for my 6 year wedding anniversary because our wedding cake was horrible and so was this one it isn't a white cake and it is like a southern pound cake and I wanted a wedding cake not a pound cake I want recommend this recipe nothing to remember our special again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States