White Velvet Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very good cookies. I did not like the icing that I made for them so will experiment with these some more. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I HATE rolling out any kind of dough- this is by far the easiest dough I have ever worked with. It was very hard straight out of the fridge but beautiful to work with once it started to warm up. Not at all sticky and was so easy to get the perfect thickness. Great tasting, nice and soft, and stayed a gorgeous light color. Perfect! But I did reduce the baking time to 7 minutes and the temp to 325. I think this is variable for everyone depending on your cookie sheets and oven. I always have to experiment a bit with the first batch of any new cookie recipe. Baked these on metal sheets lined with parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Lovely light cookies; have just a hint of taste of the cream cheese. These were a big hit at home & work. Taste very yummy with the cream cheese frosting II recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These cookies fell apart to easy. Not the kind I was looking for. I'll stay on my search for the perfect cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RS3560
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I've been making these cookies for years, I'm glad to see that someone finally posted the recipe here on All Recipes. I've lost my original recipe so I searched on the internet and ended up here. Thank God! Don't know what I'd do without this recipe. My friends and family absolutely love these cookies! They hold their shape and taste really good with icing (I use royal icing) or plain. I even have a habit of eating the dough. hee hee The cream cheese makes them very soft and rich. This is by far the best cookie recipe I've ever used...by the way, they are NOT sugar cookies. Perhaps that's why they are called White Velvet Cutouts...so if you're looking for a traditional sugar cookie, these are definitely not it. If your dough is sticky (which sometimes mine is...think it has to do with condensation during refrigeration), just use alot of flour when kneading and rolling. Give them a try, you will not be disappointed with these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
These were really good compared to other cut-out recipes. The cream cheese gave them a really great rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These came out perfect to decorate and had a perfect texture. My family really loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I thought these were exceptionally tasty but my family thought they were only ok. I make many different recipes of sugar cookies and this was not one of their favorites (but I suppose it's not to be thought of as a sugar cookie). I also found the dough to be extremely sticky. Yes, refrigeration helps but it's still a very sticky dough. I rolled it between 2 sheets of parchment and used flour. After I rolled it between the 2 sheets of parchment I placed that whole layer on a cookie sheet and placed in the freezer for about 15 minutes - this made the cookie cutter's job alot easier especially since the shapes that I was making were somewhat ornate. If you are decorating your cookies with detail then I think this is a good recipe because the cookie does not lose it's shape while baking. You can definitely taste the cream cheese in these cookies. They are delicious but it does not taste like a true sugar cookie if that is what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I've had better sugar cookies, but I really like the unique flavor that the cream cheese gives these ones. Once you taste the dough, it's hard to make yourself make the cookies! Two notes: After refrigerating the dough overnight, it was actually TOO stiff to be worked with (but working with it for ten minutes and letting it warm up made it just fine). Also, don't let the numbers fool you--you have to make awfully small cookies to get 6 dozen out of this recipe. I used a fairly large pumpkin-shaped cutter, and only got just over two dozen. They really are tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Amazing taste to these cookies. Even the dough was great tasting. I frosted these with a cream cheese frosting. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States