White Velvet Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best cutout recipe ever! I've had people ask me to sell my cookies after using this recipe. They hold their shape beautifully for making cutouts and unlike store-bought cutouts, they actually taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These are the best cutout cookies I've ever baked, so glad I found this recipe a couple years ago, they are my glamdaughters fave cookie and every one else that tries them too. Thank you for sharing. I make them at least once a month for the grandies. I'm making them again today. Tried to post a picture...wouldn't let me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have a few important tips and tricks to these delicious cookies.Tips... 1.) Do NOT bake until golden brown! - They will be way overdone. You want to pull them just as you start to see light brown on the edges. I have seen way too many pictures of crunchy lookin VELVET cutouts. There should be nothing crunchy about something described as velvet.... 2.)Do not roll with too much flour. - Start with a tiny "test piece" and very lightly flour the surface. Lastly, do not add a bunch of sugar! The cookies are not meant to be like a cross between a shortcake, and traditional sugar cutout. The butter cream frosting recipie adds so much darn sugar....sometimes too much IMO., But I have seen beautiful examples of what they should look like.... the shamrocks, santa heads, lady bugs(all great examples!)... Anyways- I wrote a Short story! LOL! These cookies are definitly worth it. Good Luck and Enjoy! These are by far my most requested cookie by friends and family. Beware-- done incorrectly- they are the most horrible cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaDoo
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I always use this as my cutout recipe. The shapes stay perfect and they are easy to make and roll out. They are not as sweet as sugar cookies but frosting them adds plenty of sweetness! I also use almond extract instead of vanilla because we prefer that taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beener
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
They were ok! I guess I was expecting them to taste differently. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beener

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have used this recipe for rolled sugar cookies; I've been using it for over 18 yrs. I originally got the recipe out of Taste of Home....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These cookies hold their shape very well. Because they do not spread or expand AT ALL, I recommend rolling the dough a little thicker than you would for normal sugar cookies so the baked cookie will be soft and chewy rather than a little crispy. They do not taste like sugar cookies, but they are tasty for a change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
WOW! Made some very charming little heart-shaped cookies for Valentine's Day. They were fabulous! I added 1/4 cup of caster sugar to make them a bit sweeter. The consistency of the finished product was nice... not too crispy and not too soft. The cream cheese adds a nice flavor. Decorate with Barbara's Butter Cream Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Awesome, they keep their shape even better than sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon O'K
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These cookies turned out great. Had a nice light flavour...like a shortbread/sugar cookie combo with a twist. Great to decorate too. I used the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon O'K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States