White Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and 30 minutes in a 325 oven was not enough time to cook. Now that it's done it looks really greasy and brown. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shadow Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was the best cakes I have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I had to try this recipe twice before I was satisfied. The first time I did it exactly as it tells you to (minus the icing because I always use my own), and as most reviews here will tell you it came out extremely dense and greasy. The second time I made the following changes: reduced butter to 3/4 of a cup Instead of adding the whole eggs after creaming butter and sugar together I added the yolks, saving the whites for later, whipping them to form stiff peaks. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract at this point. After the flour and milk have been incorporated (and before you pour it into a pan) fold in the whipped egg whites. I also had to add another 5-10 minutes to the bake time. Everyone I served it to loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Made no changes. Tasted like a sugar cookie with too much flour. Heavy, dense, sank in the center. Had to add 15 minutes to the cooking time and it still wasn't done in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was excellent. It will be used over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious, however, the cake sinks. I have followed the directions to a tea and the cake sank :( If someone knows what I might have done wrong, please tell me. It is really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgrad01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Greasy! This recipe is very thick, mine ended up tasting closer to cornbread than cake and it sunk in the center. Still tastes good, but the name does not live up to expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This cake is definitely full of butter will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This cake turned out way too greasy for me. The batter was tasty, but it just didn't bake well :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trahnse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
is this cake suppose to have no flavoring added and the consistency of paste? and it didn't rise very much...just wondering if this is the cake or me! smells delicious tho and looking forward to tasting it! very easy to make for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States