White Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
delicious reciepe......I made this for a MOTHERS DAY celebration......Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmelinda68

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Live overseas and needed to make a 12x18x1 sheet cake but could only find one box mix. I used steps 1-4 to make a bigger cake and it turned out perfectly delicious. Frosted and made a perfect birthday cake even without the tres leches! Will try the rest of the recipie next time I'm in the states and can get all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Huge hit at work! Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Papercraftnerd
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My maid of honor and I spent a week baking up and freezing thirteen of these cakes. It turned out DELICIOUS and saved me over eight hundred dollars on wedding funds. All of the wedding cakes we sampled were somewhat dry and not nearly as tasty as they were pretty... This on the other hand, still gets me compliments when I run into friends. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I'm making this cake again for the 10th time today. It is by far the best tres leches recipe that I have come across. I first made it when I was looking for a cake for my daughter's birthday. Having grown up on these I went in search for one. Needless to say the bakeries are charging an arm and a leg so I decided to try one myself. This recipe produces a cake that is perfect to decorate unlike traditional tres leches that are soggy and cant support layers or decorations. The filling is super simple to whip up and delicious. I've been covering it with a stabilized whipped cream frosting and then decorating. It has been a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Excellent cake! I followed to the "T" except for the filling/frosting. I made in a 9x13 pan. Did not need filling, so used mousse for frosting. I found 2 cups whipping cream with 1 pkg instant pudding to be way too thick and did not provide an ample amount to frost 9x13, so used total of 4 cups whipping cream to 1 pkg instant French vanilla pudding. Got many compliments on the frosting, not too sweet since cake is sweet enough as is. Also the ratio of whipping cream made for a more "milk" flavor frosting that complimented the cake beautifully! Everyone thought frosting with buttercream would be way too sweet for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow. I don't think I will make anything but this recipe for vanilla cake again. Didn't care for the pudding mixed with cream for filling It tasted to packaged/chemical for me. Will use a basic whipped cream for filling/frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was a huge hit at the baby shower I just threw. It solves the ultimate problem with tres leches cakes being too soggy to decorate. I used a little bit of almond extract in my buttercream frosting and it gave the cake a nice almond flavor twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this cake for my son's second birthday party this past weekend. Everyone raved about it and one guest told me it was the best cake he's ever had. My husband said it was the only time he's ever seen an entire cake eaten at a party. I made the cake exactly as written except I substituted almond extract for the coconut extract. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and iced it with a whipped cream icing by adding the box of vanilla pudding mix to 4 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream along with about 3-4 tablespoons of powdered sugar. 4 cups of whipping cream would be plenty to fill and ice a two layer cake. The extra half cup gave me extra for piping. Delicious with fresh berries. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I brought this to a work potluck and everyone is asking me to make it again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States