White Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
delicious reciepe......I made this for a MOTHERS DAY celebration......Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmelinda68

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Huge hit at work! Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Live overseas and needed to make a 12x18x1 sheet cake but could only find one box mix. I used steps 1-4 to make a bigger cake and it turned out perfectly delicious. Frosted and made a perfect birthday cake even without the tres leches! Will try the rest of the recipie next time I'm in the states and can get all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Papercraftnerd
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My maid of honor and I spent a week baking up and freezing thirteen of these cakes. It turned out DELICIOUS and saved me over eight hundred dollars on wedding funds. All of the wedding cakes we sampled were somewhat dry and not nearly as tasty as they were pretty... This on the other hand, still gets me compliments when I run into friends. Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I'm making this cake again for the 10th time today. It is by far the best tres leches recipe that I have come across. I first made it when I was looking for a cake for my daughter's birthday. Having grown up on these I went in search for one. Needless to say the bakeries are charging an arm and a leg so I decided to try one myself. This recipe produces a cake that is perfect to decorate unlike traditional tres leches that are soggy and cant support layers or decorations. The filling is super simple to whip up and delicious. I've been covering it with a stabilized whipped cream frosting and then decorating. It has been a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was a huge hit at the baby shower I just threw. It solves the ultimate problem with tres leches cakes being too soggy to decorate. I used a little bit of almond extract in my buttercream frosting and it gave the cake a nice almond flavor twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Excellent cake! I followed to the "T" except for the filling/frosting. I made in a 9x13 pan. Did not need filling, so used mousse for frosting. I found 2 cups whipping cream with 1 pkg instant pudding to be way too thick and did not provide an ample amount to frost 9x13, so used total of 4 cups whipping cream to 1 pkg instant French vanilla pudding. Got many compliments on the frosting, not too sweet since cake is sweet enough as is. Also the ratio of whipping cream made for a more "milk" flavor frosting that complimented the cake beautifully! Everyone thought frosting with buttercream would be way too sweet for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow. I don't think I will make anything but this recipe for vanilla cake again. Didn't care for the pudding mixed with cream for filling It tasted to packaged/chemical for me. Will use a basic whipped cream for filling/frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this cake for my Bunco group that I hosted on Cinco De Mayo. I made it in a 13 x 9 cake pan and used all the tres leche mixture except for 1 cup. Next time I will add less sweetened condensed milk because that flavor stood out and over powered the cake. I also used one of the reviewer's ideas and frosted it with 4 cups heavy whipping cream with 1 box French vanilla pudding. The cake is so sweet that this frosting complimented it well. Here is what I did: I sprayed my cake pan with oil/flour spray. After the cake was done baking, I let it cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack before turning out on a prepared cake board. I put strips of wax paper underneath the edges to catch the milk. I then poked holes all over it and gradually poured the mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, until most the mixture was used. I refrigerated it for 4 hours and frosted it with the whip cream mixture that was also in the refrigerator for 4 hours. I followed the directions except changed my ratio for the frosting. Leftovers tasted the same the next day! All the other cakes have to be thrown away because they are too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States