White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Everytime I make this cake for work I go home with an empty pan. However, I prefer to use cream cheese frosting. It goes very well with this cake. 1 package of cream cheese, 1 box of powdered sugar, 1 tbsp. butter and 1/2 tsp. almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
When I found this recipe I was so excited! I love the chocolate version of Texas sheet cake and this one is just as great! I like to make one chocolate and one white for summer outdoor barbecues. If you've never made a Texas sheet cake before, you will doubt the odd preparation method and probably be concerned that there is no possibility that it will turn out when you see the runny batter, but don't worry!! It will be a moist, tender cake. Also, be SURE to use the 10 x 15 pan, NOT a 9 x 13 or it won't cook properly. It's *supposed* to be flat. I love the warm icing spread over the warm cake, no waiting for anything to cool! It makes a smooth, attractive cake surface too. Anybody I've ever served this to has been impressed by the flavor and moistness even if it's not fancy. But NOT for the timid sweet tooth! It's definitely sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I've introduced my part of the world to Texas Sheet Cake and it was very well-received. Quick to prepare, moist, nice flavor. I've made it with both almond and vanilla extract, both times it went quickly. We did find it way too sweet so the 2nd time around I reduced the sugar in the cake to 1.5 cups and for the frosting used one third cup of butter and a bit less than 4 cups of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
First, let's be clear about what this is: It's a white sheet cake. I was reading some complaints about it being flavorless, but white cakes aren't supposed to taste like anything but sugar. If you want something else, try a spice cake. I've also seen complaints that it's falt, but it's a sheet cake. It's supposed to be flat. I'm giving this cake 5 stars because it is excellent at what it is -- a moist white cake and a vehicle for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Amsden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Very flat, very terrible, bland, wet, just overall yuk. Before I bake every cake from scratch I always check out the ratings. I am a cake decorator and bake cakes from scratch. Its just too wet and flat to sell to my customers. If anyone out there has a better recipe please let me know. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
It's been so long I've been looking for such a cake, not knowing a "white Texas sheet cake" existed. Wonderful the way it is, but I may "play" with different tastes and flavours, depending on the extract used (vanilla, orange, lemon, coconut, whatever). Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This cake is a favorite at our house! I have a family that is not so wild about almond, so I make it for them with vanilla extract. I also omit the nuts per my kids' request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
PAN SIZE IS ESSENTIAL!!! If you make this cake in a size other than indicated, you will have a failure. If you choose to do that, do NOT rate the recipe poorly. Texas sheet cakes are *supposed* to be flat, moist, dense, and sweet. If you try to make it be something it's not, you'll be disappointed (and that will not be the fault of the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My husband insisted this cake was too sweet. My three year old daughter who usually is a sugarholic like myself, wouldn't touch this cake after the first bite. Personally, I love this cake! But I want to accurately reflect the opinions of my family in this review. What I might do is make this cake again and lessen the sugar content (especially in the icing) and then sneak it to them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I. LOVE. THIS. CAKE. I've always made the chocolate version of Texas sheet cakes and like others had no CLUE there was a white version, but Diane, YOU my new little friend are just the BEST! I discovered this recipe just recently and have already tried several variations, with great success with every modification I might add. My first go-round, I needed a white cake for Church, something basic to go under a white cream cheese frosting to decorate with black musical notes. Little hesitant with the almond so used half almond, half vanilla on the extracts. Everyone loved it, so that weekend when family came over for the Super Bowl I tried the recipe as written. Realizing "as written" could mean walnuts OR pecans, I opted for pecans and all almond extract. Rave reviews was an UNDERSTATEMENT! Made it several times since then too. (You'd like to think I have no other dessert recipes, lol!) Making it again tonight to be used as a dessert after our youth's Spaghetti Dinner fundraiser tomorrow. Will be trying sprinkles instead of nuts this time since it'll be mostly kids in attendance. I was actually asked to bring a "box cake" but why use a BOX when you have a recipe like THIS! It's quick, SO easy, versatile and quite adaptable. The best part is it's mostly ingredients you already have on hand. Not one single "con" I can think of...it's just the perfect cake just the way it's written here! Diane, thanks SO MUCH for sharing...needless to say, for me, this one's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States