White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Took this to a potluck and it was a huge hit! I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups in the cake and 4 cups of confectioners' sugar after reading the reviews. The almond extract is the key here it is delicious so I added 1/2 tsp more. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake! I was sitting here after dinner craving something sweet.I wanted to bake something that was fast and easy to prepare and this fit the bill!! It is a very dense cake but in a good way! tastes moist not wet...lol as some users said! My only changes were I used pecans instead of walnuts and for the frosting i used half butter half cream cheese! Excellent!!! I will use this recipe again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
First, this cake is yellow, not white. This cake was also flat, gummy, and not edible. I followed this cake recipe exactly as written. The batter was very running, but after reading the reviews, I wasn't concerned. I put it in a 15 X 10 as specified. After 20 minutes of baking, the cake tested done and the edges were browned. After cooling for 20 minutes I cut into it and it was as many reviewers have said - the cake was wet, gummy and flat. Very disappointed. I have used many cake recipes from the All Recipes sight and never had a problem with a 5 rated recipe before. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a great and easy to make cake!!!! Make it for family get-togethers and always bring home empty pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I Loved it! This cake is soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I thought it was a strange way to mix a cake but I followed the instructions exactly as written. The cake turned out heavy and flat and a strange yellow. I couldn't use it for a birthday. I had to bake another cake from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Good. Easy. The frosting was too stiff so would add less sugar or add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This has to be one of the easiest and most moist white cakes I’ve tried. I cook for a correctional halfway house and am always looking for ideas to cook up. I tripled the recipe to make enough for a large sheet tray and it easily served the 50 residents here. The cake made a big hit with them all. The suggestion that about adding more milk to the frosting was spot on though. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is awesome!! My goal this summer (and last summer actually) have been to find a good yellow or white cake recipe. I have tried many different yellow and white cakes that had high reviews on this site and so far none have been what I am looking for. They all end up shrinking, and while some of them had good flavor, they were also very dense. Then I decided to try this for a flag cake I wanted to make for the fourth of July. I used vanilla extract instead of almond, and I didn't use the icing recipe as I was making a flag design with whipped cream, strawberries, and blueberries. It was moist and had a very nice flavor. I am going to experiment with different icings and pan sizes, as I would like to make round cakes with this recipe. I will let you know how that goes! I'll put a picture of the flag cake I made with this. It was wonderful! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
As a Texan and southerner, I've baked and eaten a lot of sheet cakes. This is DELICIOUS. Period. For those of you not familiar with this type of cake, it's supposed to be flat. The frosting here is terrific as well, but I prefer a simple butter cream. Thanks to Diane Kester!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States