White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wanda Odum Turner
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Don't know about the bad reviews because this recipe produced a wonderful cake. My family is small so I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 glass pan. I made a quick cream cheese icing and sprinkled walnuts over the top. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Odum Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The cake is very moist and has a great almond flavor. Next time I will add a little more milk or cream to the frosting; my family thought it was too sweet. Perhaps adding cream cheese as another reviewer mentioned would help the frosting not taste quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Since first discovering this recipe earlier this year, I have made this cake several times changing nothing except a little less icing.Because it is so sweet, a small slice is sufficient. Cake is very moist.Can't imagine it without the almond which makes the flavor pop. Pairs nicely with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for a simple but delicious dessert. (White on white is a statement in itself) Great also for a shower or Mother 's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I'm only giving this a 3 for a couple of reasons. number one this is a paula deen recipe, word for word and you never gave her credit. secondly, you missed a couple of important steps in your recipe. makes a huge difference in how the batter comes out, as I did it your way and the paula deen way. if you're throwing eggs into hot water/butter it will cook the eggs. by mixing the flour with the hot mixture first, it didn't cook the eggs and it also thickened the batter. the aroma is wonderful and I wish I could try the cakes but doing them for someone else...batter tasted ok. just give credit where credit is due next time and when you print your ingredients, write them down in the order in which they should be done. it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Fantastic cake. I used cool whip cream cheese prepackaged frosting (I typically hate and refuse to use canned frosting) on the cooled cake for the sake of time. It was SO delicious. Wonderful cake base recipe. My chocolate loving daughter thought this was better than the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe up last week and while it didn't come out white, it really got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe for a larger cookie sheet. I cut the cake in half to make a layer cake and used raspberry jam for the filling. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I'll make this cake again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this for my Husbands birthday. His mom always makes a chocolate version for everyone's birthday, and I thought I would try something new. He doesn't like too much chocolate, whereas I am a chocolate nut! In that aspect it turned out amazing and delicious! The only aspect that I didn't expect was my family, who critiqued it as having a "weird" taste. After reviewing some of the other comments, I realized my family apparently does not like almond extract, being used to only vanilla. Oddly, I won't change it the next time I make it, because we loved the subtle difference. They just won't get any=P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Trahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever baked. Used cream cheese frosting. It was a huge hit! I've finally found the cake that I'll go back to again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I thought this cake very moist if you make it the day before then frost it. I also used vanilla nut flavoring because that's all I had and it still had a good flavor. Though it is sweet its great with a glass of milk .I will make this cake again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thereagors1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Morris, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was very good. We all love Texas Sheet Cake, but my husband can no longer eat chocolate. He loved this! I still prefer the chocolate version, but I will make this again for my hubby! I followed the recipe except I used vanilla extract in place of the almond extract (didn't have any). This is a very good white version of Texas Sheet Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ingalsbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States