White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
After a fair amount of mediocre baking experiences lately, this was a welcome and refreshing surprise! Moist and sweet and dense and delicious - and the almond flavoring was just the right amount! They're pretty too. I didn't use the frosting, however, since I had some of my own favorite buttercream frosting left from another baking day - and it had vanilla flavoring, no almond, and I liked it that way. I made half a recipe in a 9x9 inch pan, but a 7x11 inch pan would work well too. These are going to be a hit tonight when I serve them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe out on my family first before bringing to a church potluck; it was moist, sweet, delicious, and yes, it's supposed to be flat. The icing was sweet but again, it's a sheetcake so it's supposed to be sweet. This is an excellent recipe, soooo easy and quick you could almost have the whole thing done in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very happy with this cake. Devoured by co-workers and they are a critical bunch! Took suggestions from several other reviewers and made the following changes... Used the 10 X 15 pan as called for / used 1/2 tsp of almond and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract / frosting - used only 3 cups of powdered sugar / 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup cream cheese / and lastly, used maple extract instead of vanilla. The taste almost reminded me of a pecan pancake with maple syrup! The texture was good, dense but very moist. Actually rose more than my Texas sheet cakes ever did - I might added a tad more baking soda than called for. Because of that, I adjusted the icing so it would not just all spill out over the side. The cream cheese and less sugar helped it set a little faster and I also made sideboards from tin foil to help hold it in at the edges. I will be making it again many times as will my co- workers. I also agree with other reviewers that this cake is a good pairing with the traditional Texas Sheet Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Just like a sheet cake... Thin and yummy! I may try some other variations next time... Like coconut in cake and on the icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Took this to a potluck and it was a huge hit! I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups in the cake and 4 cups of confectioners' sugar after reading the reviews. The almond extract is the key here it is delicious so I added 1/2 tsp more. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake! I was sitting here after dinner craving something sweet.I wanted to bake something that was fast and easy to prepare and this fit the bill!! It is a very dense cake but in a good way! tastes moist not wet...lol as some users said! My only changes were I used pecans instead of walnuts and for the frosting i used half butter half cream cheese! Excellent!!! I will use this recipe again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
First, this cake is yellow, not white. This cake was also flat, gummy, and not edible. I followed this cake recipe exactly as written. The batter was very running, but after reading the reviews, I wasn't concerned. I put it in a 15 X 10 as specified. After 20 minutes of baking, the cake tested done and the edges were browned. After cooling for 20 minutes I cut into it and it was as many reviewers have said - the cake was wet, gummy and flat. Very disappointed. I have used many cake recipes from the All Recipes sight and never had a problem with a 5 rated recipe before. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a great and easy to make cake!!!! Make it for family get-togethers and always bring home empty pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I Loved it! This cake is soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I thought it was a strange way to mix a cake but I followed the instructions exactly as written. The cake turned out heavy and flat and a strange yellow. I couldn't use it for a birthday. I had to bake another cake from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States