White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great cake!!! I love Chocolate Texas Sheet Cake so had to try this. Loved it. I did add a little vanilla extract along with the almond extract to the cake. Used Pecans instead of walnuts because I like :-)I think next time I would like to use Maple extract w/Pecan. I think that would be a GREAT combo :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this plain or with hot bittersweet chocolate sauce. I used a 9x13 and added 2 tsps of baking powder. Toothpick out clean in only 30 mins @350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Perfect. Nom nom nom! This cake is so easy to make. My daughters (10 and 4) "helped", and it came out perfectly. Thank you! We had made fudge that didn't quite set up, so we warmed it up and used it as frosting. This cake lasted only a couple days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Sierra
Home Town: Bartlett, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
yay. Not bad. Not EXACTLY what I was looking for but it definitely did the job and was quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
When we first made this cake it was amazing. The best cake I have ever tasted. The icing was especially perfect, but I added a small amount of water, just for a more creamier sort of mix. Overall, an amazing cake recipe. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. It has a nice almond flavor to it and since it is sweet by itself, I just topped with whipped cream and berries. I had to make it twice within a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Tried this with some minor adjustments. The first time with half vanilla extract and half almond, the second time with all vanilla. Both times, DELISH, rave reviews and no leftovers :o) Oh, and I also omitted the walnuts... just wanted plain white cake! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. Very easy to make. I used pecans because I like them better. But it was good with the walnuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good. I ended up making three rounds instead of one sheet cake. Simple, and tasty. Very mild flavor - great for a flavorful icing. I think next time I'd try a rich chocolate icing to top it off - that would be scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I find the reviews stating the cake is "flat" strange. Texas sheet cake is supposed to be flat!! It's more like a cake-y brownie, but definitely should not taste like a brownie. This recipe is great as is. It is sweet, but so is the chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States