White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
As a Texan and southerner, I've baked and eaten a lot of sheet cakes. This is DELICIOUS. Period. For those of you not familiar with this type of cake, it's supposed to be flat. The frosting here is terrific as well, but I prefer a simple butter cream. Thanks to Diane Kester!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did not use the frosting, so I cannot speak for the entire recipe, but the cake itself was excellent- very moist. I doubled the recipe to use in an 11x17 pan (greased and floured), then torted to fill with fresh strawberry mango filling, and topped with vanilla-almond buttercream and fondant. The cake held together very well when I torted it which had been a concern since it was quite a big size. I will definitely be adding this to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved IT! Soo easy to make and soo tasty! I added extra almond extract because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this cake! I changed the frosting - left out almond extract and added a tablespoon of vanilla instead, and left out walnuts. THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great cake! So easy to prepare and I always receive compliments. I do add a bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Andrix-Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and moist cake. I added a little coconut along with the walnuts. Got rave reviews from group I cooked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
We enjoyed this one! I used pecans instead of walnuts. Kept well for lunches for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I like this cake very much I sometimes use vanilla extract in place of the almond extract in the icing. My mom says since it is very sweet and rich she makes only half a batch of icing for the cake. I also have a neighbor who bakes texas sheet cakes in a regular rectangular cake pan probably for height but she may bake it longer than the given time but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The cake was eatable but flat....I suggest 1 teaspoon baking powder added to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I did change it, replaced almond extract with lemon extract. A totally different texas sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States